Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

October/November: Empties

Leave a comment

I’m a bit behind on my blogging. Sorry peeps! You know how it is. So many things in life can happen to distract us from writing. Anyway, at long last here my first impressions of the samples I finished off during October & November.

Note: All the images in this post are of the full sized product.  All samples listed below were from the Fresh Faced website.

mlproblemsolver_large
May Lindstrom, The Problem Solver:
I used this sample for the first time as a full face mask one weekend in October. It felt warm & tingly when I put it on. After the warming sensation subsided I left it on for about an hour. On the Fresh Faced website the instructions say leave on for 45 minutes. But I left it on while I showered then washed it off just before I stepped out. My skin looked super freakin’ amazing! Details? You want details? My skin looked brighter, texture was smoother, my existing pimples shrunk by half & somehow the dark spots on my face faded! It also works well as a spot treatment for pimples. The scent of this product is that of spices & earth. But once on my face & drying I couldn’t smell it anymore. The full size jar is more expensive than any mask I’ve ever bought before. If I can’t find anything just as good I think I will splurge & get the full jar. I knocked the rating down one star for its cost. But if I used it sparingly I’m sure it would last a long time & justify the high price tag.
Cost: sample size $0.75 CAD, full size $92.00 CAD (250ml/8.45 oz)
Rating: 4/5

mlgoodstuff_large
May Lindstrom, The Good Stuff Radiance Oil:
Meh! I wasn’t as impressed with this product. For one thing, why put mica in it? Don’t get me wrong the oil did what it was supposed to do: hydrate my skin. I wasn’t sure if my eyes were deceiving me but I could swear it left a yellow tinge on my skin. Maybe it was the sea buckthorn oil. I’ve read in places that sea buckthorn oil can do that. Anyway, I won’t be purchasing a full sized bottle of this.
Cost: sample size, $0.75 CAD, full size $112 CAD (100ml/3.38oz)
Rating: 3/5

w-nar
W3ll People, Narcissist Foundation & Concealer Stick:
I got several different sample colours to try since it’s hard to tell from looking at the monitor what would match my skintone. The colours I picked were 2 – Fair golden, 3 – Medium neutral & 5 – Dark golden. Turns out all three work for different reasons. 2 is perfect for hiding the circles under my eyes, 3 is my perfect winter colour & 5 looks like it will be great as my summer colour. Why winter & summer colours? I live in Toronto, Canada, where it gets cold & dark in the winter. Hence a paler shade since my skin doesn’t see as much sun during the winter. And of course in the summer time I’m out as much as possible, so I get a little more tanned despite wearing sunscreen. The coverage of Narcissist is great. I have some dark spots & acne to hide so first application looks like medium coverage. If your skin is in better shape, you could definitely use a lighter hand with this product & not look cakey. Texture is slightly tacky & there was no discernable scent. After I brushed some loose foundation on top of this my skin looks great. It’s very natural looking. I will definitely repurchase after I finish my old concealer. It’s a great price point & great product.
Cost: sample size $0.75 CAD, full size $39.00 CAD (no measurement given on Fresh Faced website)
Rating: 5/5

w-al
W3ll People, Altruist Satin Mineral Foundation:
I ordered two colours in sample size to try: the 12 – Fair golden & 16 – Medium golden. Surprisingly neither was the right colour for me. 12 was way too light & 16 looked too yellow. I may try 17 – Dark neutral & 18 – Dark golden next time. But I couldn’t properly evaluate this product since I couldn’t wear the colours. I didn’t want to walk around looking like a ghost if I used 12 or like I was jaundiced if I used 16.
Cost: sample size, $0.75 CAD, full size $31.00 CAD (no measurement given on Fresh Faced website)
Rating: Still to be determined

onelove-mornglory
One Love Organics, Morning Glory Brightening Complexion Booster:
Another meh product for me. I received this free sample with my order. The effect on my skin was pretty ordinary. It was fine at hydrating my skin. But it didn’t brighten my skin tone. Nor did it improve the texture of my skin in any way.  So I will pass on purchasing a full sized bottle of this.
Cost: free sample, full size $48.00 CAD (1 fl oz/ 30 ml)
Rating: 2/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

