Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

One of a Kind Christmas Show 2013

5 Comments

ooak

Squee! I went to the Toronto One of a Kind Show (OOAK) yesterday (open now until Dec 8th). I know I know, its kinda geeky of me. But ever since my high school teacher introduced me to the OOAK I’ve loved it. The first time I attended it was held in the old Automotive Building at the CNE & it looked like a winter wonderland. I thought I’d died & gone to heaven. Since then, the show has of course gotten much larger & more commercial. I’ve come to realize that though the products sold here may be of higher price points, sometimes you do get what you pay for. And if you buy things of better quality & buy less often, you really are saving money. Plus I love supporting Canadian businesses so its all win win for me! To read more about the history of the OOAK Show click here.

And now without further ado, here’s my must visit booth list for the OOAK Show where I either bought or admired things in the booth. I’ve listed the booths by alphabetical order.

@ooak_toronto Marcelo glass artisan booth A20 beautiful #earrings #pendants #jewelley

A post shared by Hazel (@radiant_reiki) on


Marcelo Glass Artisan – Booth A20
Marcelo Escobar makes some lovely glass jewellry. He had earrings, pendants & bracelets on display. While I really loved the artistry I don’t need any new jewellry right now. But I will keep him in mind for the future! This is what I love about OOAK. Discovering Canadian artisans that I haven’t heard about.
From: Montreal, QC.

@noujica booth A38 @ooak_toronto lovely #scarf & #bags

A post shared by Hazel (@radiant_reiki) on


Noujica – Booth A38
They make lovely handmade scarfs, hats, belts, earrings & bags from materials such as organic cotton & recycled leather. I bought a lovely cloud scarf for myself at this booth.
From: Montreal, QC.

Tiffani
Image Source: One of a Kind Show

Tiffiani Sabri – Booth B09
I wasn’t really in the market for some new artwork. But I was walking by Tiffiani Sabri’s booth & one of her pieces caught my eye. I just couldn’t resist. I bought a small painting from her & am mighty glad I did!
From: Kitchener, ON

massage-oil
Image Source: All Things Jill

All Things Jill – Booth C21
Also mentioned by Adria Vasil in her post last year about OOAK. I stopped by the booth to sniff her lovely products & bought her massage oil in Zen Lotus which can also be used as a body oil. The oil also comes in Aegean Mint & Sunflower Citrus. Looking forward to trying it out!
From: Calgary, AB

@mandala_designs booth C04 @ooak_toronto #clothing #local

A post shared by Hazel (@radiant_reiki) on


Mandala Design – Booth C04
One of my fave clothing lines is made by local designer Mandy Armstrong. The booth looked pretty busy so I didn’t go in & try on anything. But I know I can easily get her clothes at Fresh Collective.
From: Toronto, ON.

ressac-R14
R14 purse
Image Source: Ressac

Ressac – Booth D48
Bought a gift for someone at this booth. I can’t say what or for whom obviously! LOL. But Ressac makes modern, edgy bags, wallets & other accessories from recycling punctured inner tubes. I love the clean, modern lines of their products & the different colour options. My next go to place when I want a new bag or wallet.
From: Sherbrooke, QC

@oauthentique oh la la Dead Sea mud soap! @ooak_toronto #soap #organic

A post shared by Hazel (@radiant_reiki) on

osoap
Picture of Olive & Grape Seed Soap & their Dead Sea Mud Soap
Image Source: Moi

Olive Authentique – Booth D20
Adria Vasil mentioned Olive Authentique in her post last year about OOAK. I took a quick look at their website & fell in love with the Dead Sea Mud Soap (which I purchased).  I also bought a bar of their Olive & Grape Seed Soap to try. They smell so good!
From: Lakefiled, QC

ppl-maudebl
Maude Blazer
Image Source: Paper People Clothing

Paper People Clothing – Booth F08
I discovered Paper People at Fresh Collective when I went to the Kensington boutique for the first time earlier this year. Turns out Adria Vasil also mentioned them in her post about OOAK last year! Local designer Jennifer Fukushima creates new clothing out of recycled materials & eco-friendly textiles. I love the style of her clothing line & of course that it’s eco-friendly. Plus they make everything right in my city!
From: Toronto, ON.


Dvorak Nuts & Chocolate – Booth G52
I just had to stop & see what the “better than sex” sign was about, it made me laugh. Turns out it’s their dark chocolate product. And yes, it is delicious! Though some might argue about the title & whether it is better than sex! LOL. I bought 3 packages. One for me & hubby, & the other two to give away.
From: Delta, BC

Diana Diamond Dress
Image Source: Desserts & Skirts

Desserts & Skirts – Booth H26
Another clothing line available at Fresh Collective.  Really, the gals at Fresh Collective know what’s what! Designer Nicole Boudreau also is a Toronto designer. Love their totally feminine line of dresses, tops, & skirts. I purchased a purple tunic/dress from this booth. Both Nicole & her friend were so friendly & funny too!
From: Toronto, ON.

Capelet_1-380x500
Corso Caplet
Image Source: Vespertine

Vespertine – Booth N30
Melanie Ferrara uses eco-friendly textiles to design her new line of “modern, conscious, effortlesss…& beautiful” clothing. I actually met Melanie when I ordered some custom pieces from her a year ago when she was making clothing under her Device Design line.  Love the new look Melanie!
Note: Quote taken from Vespertine’s About page.
From: Toronto, ON.

A50-lalouve
La Louve Dress
Image Source: Annie50

Annie50 – Booth O48
Also available at Fresh Collective, Annie50 is inspired by retro clothing styles but with a modern twist. I love the vibrant colours of their clothing & the unique way they put pieces together. You can choose from up to three colours for some styles in pants, dresses, skirts, tops, etc. I have their Sunset dress in black.
From: Montreal, QC

Blouse_Three_of_Joy_Skirt_Diego1
Image Source: Eve Gravel

Eve Gravel – Booth P44
”Contemporary…flirty & feminine” is a perfect way to describe Eve Gravel’s clothing. Eve herself was there at the booth & she was so nice. Her staff at the booth were also very helpful. I tried on a couple of things & ended up buying the Three of Joy blouse pictured above.
Note: Quote taken from Bio page on Eve Gravel website.
From: Montreal, QC

sf
Image Source: Studio Fresh

Studio Fresh – Booth S29
Okay I’ve talked about Studio Fresh before in my I heart Canadian-made clothing post. I’ve been back to their Danforth Avenue store a second time since my first visit & bought more clothing from them. Connie Meyer’s designs totally suit me. They are whimsical but with a modern & urban flair. The booth was so busy that I couldn’t hope to get into their fitting rooms. But I will definitely go back to visit the store again!
From: Toronto, ON

Ssw
Image Source: One of a Kind Show

Skinny Sweats – Booth R23
I really liked the idea of sweats that didn’t look all baggy & ugly but were still comfy. Skinny Sweats solves this dilemma with a woman’s body in mind. Their skinnies come in different styles & fabrics. I think these pants would be perfect for wearing with long boots in the winter! And in the warmer months they would be a good replacement for yoga pants. I tried on a couple of pairs of the skinny basic but they were way too long for petite ole me. The lady at the booth said they could do a custom pair to fit my height! Now that’s service. Not many designers would do that for you! I’m going to buy one in black & another in a different colour or fabric. I haven’t decided which colour yet.
From: Toronto, ON.

Toni_Desrosiers268156_809
Image Source: One of a Kind Show

Abeego – Booth V23
Abeego makes eco-friendly, reusable wraps & pouches as an alternative to the decidedly non-eco-friendly saran wrap.  Their wraps can be used to “Package cheese, form around produce, wrap lunch items, baked goods and more.” I personally use their flat wraps to freeze organic veggies I’ve chopped up.  That’s more eco-friendly than buying a plastic bag of frozen veggies from the supermarket. I bought a package of their different sized wraps & also two of their pouch type wraps. Best thing about Abeego’s products? They are washable & reusable. When they’re finally worn out they can be placed in your compost bin! You can also buy Abeego at the Grassroots store.
Note: Quote taken from One of a Kind Show Abeego Aristan page.
From: Victoria, BC

Well peeps, there’s my round up. I also saw a lot of art, sculpture, & other things that caught my eyes. Of course I can’t mention them all here! Otherwise my post would go on forever. Just get yourself to the  One of a Kind Show & have some fun!

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

5 thoughts on “One of a Kind Christmas Show 2013

  1. Thanks for the mention, Aria!

  2. Lovely to see you again, Hazel : ) Thanks for including me in your must-visit list!

Leave a Reply

