Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Product Review: @OsmiaOrganics

Leave a comment

NMDL had a Friday deal with Osmia a while back. And I couldn’t resist it! I was tired of not being able to try all the interesting products they talk about on their blog. Even though I had to pay in USD, I didn’t get charged duty taxes since my purchase was around $60.00 USD. Just my luck, after I received my order I found out that Osmia is now available at Husk in Toronto.   All images are from the Osmia Organics website.

osmia-fcs

Facial Calibration Serum:

Ingredients: caprylic/capric triglyceride (fractionated coconut oil), olive squalane, aleurites molaccana (kukui) oil, carthamus tinctorius (safflower) oil*, macadamia integrifolia (macadamia nut) oil*, rosa rubiginosa (rosehips) seed oil*, vitus vinifera (grapeseed) oil*, wildcrafted butyrospermum parkii (shea) oil, schisandra sphenanthera (schisandra fruit) CO2, euterpe oleracea (acai) oil, nigella sativa (black seed) oil*, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) CO2 extract*, GMO-free vitamin E oil, and a proprietary blend of organic and wild-harvested essential oils
36% certified organic ingredients

This serum is supposed to help skin become more even, smooth & assist with regulating sebum. I love the soft floral/herbal smell. Speaking of the scent, it does smell like the lovely ingredients: rosemary, rosehips, safflower oil & macadamia nut oil. But the scent is not overpowering. The texture & consistency is siky, light & oily. I think of this more as an oil than a serum.  Too bad though, my skin didn’t love this serum. It must be the fractionated coconut oil.  My facial skin doesn’t like anything with coconut oil, though it works fine on my body. I’d read on NMDL that some people experienced a detox process. But for me it was never-ending. I kept getting little white pimples all over my face every time I used it.  I decided to give up on it after several days of breakouts & things weren’t calming down.  I won’t be repurchasing. I kept the rating at two because it didn’t work for me, but I love the smell of it so much. Maybe I can just use the rest of the bottle as an oil perfume since I can’t put it on my face.
Cost: $50.00 USD, 0.5 oz
Rating: 2/5

osmia-sptr

Spot Treatment

Ingredients: organic evening primrose oil and essential oils of lavender*, cajeput*, lemon*, parsley, thyme, cypress*, and rosemary CO2*
96.5% certified organic ingredients

This stuff really works! It gradually shrinks the pimple using essential oils of lavender, cajeput, lemon, parsley, thyme, cypress, & rosemary. It’s great because it didn’t dry out my skin at all. I hate it when you use acne serums & then you’re left with a ring of dry skin around the pimple that seems to peel forever. Those rings of dry skin make it hard to put makeup on smoothly.  Anyway, my skin didn’t absorb the oils completely. So for me it was best used in the evening when I knew I wasn’t going to leave the house again.  I don’t mind looking a bit oily if I’m just hanging out at home. Just a note: While I found the oil does sit on the surface of the skin a bit, my face wasn’t oily enough to stain the pillow cases. I would definitely consider repurchasing this. But before I do, I’d like to try Cocoon Apothecary’s spotbuster blemish treatment since they’re a Canadian brand.
Cost: $20.00 USD, 0.16 oz
Rating: 5/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

