Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

November/December: Empties

Leave a comment

osmia-sptr
Image Source: Osmia Organics

Osmia Organics, Spot Treatment
I’ve already written a full review which you can read here. I was a little skeptical when I got it. So many acne treatments I’ve used in the past didn’t work. But this stuff works! I would repurchase it now that it’s available at a retail store here in Toronto. But first I want to try a Toronto based brand’s blemish treatment to see how it compares. I’m coming for you Cocoon Apothecary! I always try to buy Canadian first & foremost.
Cost: $20.00 USD, 0.16 oz
Available at: Osmia Organics, Husk Toronto
Rating: 5/5

geodeo-uns
Image Source: Amazon

GeoDeo Detox Complex Deodorant, Unscented:
Kinda iffy about this deodorant. Not all the ingredients are clean. There is PEG-100 Stearate  & Tocopheryl Acetate which both rate a 3 on EWG’s Skin Deep. But I needed a new deodorant as I’d developed a reaction to the one I was using at that point. GeoDeo worked up to a point. I started off feeling fresh applying after a shower but by the end of the day I was a little smelly. Not a lot smelly, just a little. But enough that I would have to rewash the shirt I was wearing. Won’t be repurchasing. Why is it so hard to find a good natural deodorant that keeps working?
Cost: $12,95 CAD, 2.3 oz, 65g
Available at: Ambrosia Natural Foods
Rating: 1/5

holistic-v-lotion
Image Source: Pure + Simple

Holistic Vanity, Brightening Hyaluronic Lotion:
This was part of an intro kit I bought. I’m still finishing off the rest of the intro kit. But I ran out of the lotion since I use it more often. I’ve already repurchased a full sized bottle. I have to say, I really like this lotion. My skin feels really hydrated, dewy & smooth after I put it on. Full review for intro kit to come!
Cost: Intro Kit size $68.00 CAD for set of 4 items, 20 ml each, Full size $68.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Rating: 5/5

now-avo

Image Source: Healthy Planet

Now Solutions, Avocado Oil:
See full review here. I got bored of the Avocado Oil after a while. And I even started to get some skin irritation on my thigh, which I thought was weird. I didn’t experience this with the Apricot Kernel Oil which I was using just beforehand. I hadn’t changed anything else in my body care routine except to switch to the avocado oil. I won’t be repurchasing. I’m knocking the rating down a notch for the skin irritation.
Cost: $5.89 CAD, 118ml
Available at: Healthy Planet, Ambrosia Natural Foods, The Big Carrot & Noah’s Natural Foods
Rating: 3/5

yarok-feed_your_do_big
Image Source: Yarok

Yarok, Feed Your Do:
This is one of my fave natural hair brands. I love a lot of Yarok’s products. I’ve repurchased the Feed Your Do several times already. Originally this product came in a 4 oz jar. It now only comes in the 2 oz jar.  But a little goes a long way so I don’t need to repurchase as often as you might think.  I would like to change it up a bit though. Next I’ll be trying a made-in-Toronto brand called World Salon. They have a product called World Buzz that’s a pomade which I hope will give me pretty much the same texture & results as Yarok. I gotta spread the local brand love!
Cost: $18.00 CAD
Available at: Fresh Faced, Saffron Rouge
Rating: 5/5

w3ll-conceal

W3ll People, Narcissist Foundation & Concealer Stick:
See full review here. I finally finished up the sample I’d gotten from Fresh Faced. I’ve already bought the full size in #3 – medium neutral. I like using #2 – fair golden under my eyes, but #3 is perfect for all over my face. As I said in the full review, it’s very natural looking. And it pairs very nicely with my Haut Cosmetics powder foundation.
Cost: sample size $0.75 CAD, full size $39.00 CAD, 0.375oz, 10g
Available at: Fresh Faced, Saffron Rouge
Rating: 5/5

mvo-edc
Image Source: Fresh Faced

Marie Veronique Organics, Everyday Coverage SPF:
See full review here. Yeah, I finally finished up my travel/sample size bottle from the acne intro kit. If not for the emu oil I would’ve repurchased this as it’s perfect for my daily SPF needs. But unless MVO reformulates without the emu oil I won’t buy it again. Same for their Treatment Serum & Treatment Oil which also contains emu oil.
Cost: $42.00 CAD, full sized bottle, 2 oz / 60 ml.
Available at: Lilou Organics, Fresh Faced
Rating: 3/5

be-lippie
Image Source: Bare & English

Bare & English, Vanilla Coconut Lip Balm:
Yum, this lip balm tastes so good! It’s a softer lip balm than I’m used to & I seemed to use it up much quicker than other lippies I’ve tried. I like that these are made in Toronto.  The ingredients are also super clean & simple. Just 8 ingredients: candelilla wax, jojoba oil, almond oil, cocoa butter, vitamin E, coconut oil, olive oil & castor oil. I’m kind of middle of the road on this lippie though. I still found the corners of my mouth getting dry. I also wish they had bigger sizes for the balm.
Cost: $18.00 CAD
Available at: Bare & English, The Big Carrot & Noah’s Natural Foods. See website for more retailers.
Rating: 3/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

