Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

December/January: Empties

Leave a comment

Kahina-eyeserum
Image Source: Fresh Faced, full size product

Kahina, Eye Serum, free sample size:
I got this as a free sample from Fresh Faced with my previous order. It’s accurate to call this product a serum as its consistency isn’t as thick as an eye cream. But it’s not a runny serum either. It straddles the line between both. I liked this eye serum lots. I don’t have puffy eyes but I do have under eye circles. This helped lighten the under eye circles quite a bit! It’s kind of pricey though so I’m debating whether or not I want to buy it I’ve heard good things about Antipodes Kiwi Seed Oil Eye Cream which is 52.00 NZD for 30 ml. Wishing I could get a sample of Antipodes’ Eye Cream to try out before buying the full size.
Cost: Full size, $65.00 CAD, 0.4 fl oz. / 12 ml
Available at: Fresh Faced
Rating: 4/5

feedends_grande
Image Source: Fresh Faced, full size product

Yarok, Feed Your Ends – Full review here:
This is one of the staples in my hair care regime. Though I’m trying to be more minimalist so I haven’t repurchased. It smells softly like lemon meringue. And it’s a liquid type of leave-in.  I’ve heard it’s not so great for straight hair. It works great for my loose, curly hair, especially for day 2 hair.
Cost: Full size, $27.00 CAD, 8 oz
Available at: Fresh Faced, Saffron Rouge
Rating: 5/5

HolVan-cleanser
This is the Intro Kit sized cleanser that had been living in my shower!

Holistic Vanity, Rejuvenating Rosewater Cleanser – Full review to come:
This cleanser comes out a white opaque liquid when you pump it out onto your hand. It has a light, creamy consistency & smells so nice to my nose. The main ingredients are rose water, ginseng, tamanu oil, & geranium. I normally don’t like the smell of roses but in this cleanser it’s so mild I can barely smell it. One sign of a good product is how well the different scents of the ingredients blend together. So let’s just say this product is a party for my nose. In terms of effectiveness it really does what it’s advertised to do: “provides a deep-pore cleanse without stripping the skin or its barrier function.” I was using this during my morning showers to wash off whatever treatment I’d left on my face the night before. It never left my skin feeling dry. Rather, my skin felt hydrated & smooth. I even noticed a reduction in acne breakouts. This cleanser made my Best of 2013 list. I would repurchase the full sized bottle next time I run out of cleanser.
Cost: Intro Kit size $68.00 CAD for set of 4 items, 20 ml each, Full size $30.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Rating: 5/5

haut-empty-foundation
My empty Haut Bio Mineral Foundation jar. Ready to be repurposed!

Haut Cosmetics, Bio Mineral FoundationFull review here:
Another item from my Best of 2013 list. Haut’s loose mineral foundation is the best I’ve tried so far. It’s finely milled powder with such pure ingredients I keep coming back to it. As I’ve said in my original review, it’s like my skin but better!Plus its Canadian & from one of my fave places: British Columbia. I would definitely repurchase.
Cost: Full size, $59.00 CAD, 10g
Available at: Haut Cosmetics
Rating: 5/5

osoap-dsm

Olive Authentique, Dead Sea Mud Soap Bar – Full review to come:
I’m not sure if Olive Authentique is still making this bar since I can’t find it on their website now. I bought this at the One of a Kind Show in Nov 2013 & it’s on my Best of 2013 list as well. It’s a sweet little soap bar. It lasted me longer than I was expecting & was so moisturizing. The scent is so mild you can hardly smell anything. But if I had to describe the smell I would say it’s very clean smelling. I also noticed that while I was using this soap I didn’t get any acne on my neck or back which I’m prone to do. I would repurchase this if it’s still in production!
Cost: Full size, $10.00, 100g
Available at: Olive Authentique
Rating: 5/5

pureanada-lipgloss-strwbrycream
My empty Pure Anada lip gloss

Pure Anada, Lip Gloss in Strawberry Cream – Full review here:
This lip gloss is pretty thick & opaque for a lip gloss. It’s more like liquid lipstick. I’m into the super shiny lip gloss right now so I’ll probably repurchase when I run out of lip sticks. The container isn’t the best. Sometimes the lip gloss will leak out a little, especially when its newly opened. But it’s nothing that a swipe of tissue won’t take care of.
Cost: Full size, $12.00 CAD, 10 ml, Sample size $1.00 CAD
Available at: The Big Carrot, Pure Anada
Rating: 4/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

