Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Product Review: @essenceofvali

Leave a comment

NMDL had a Friday deal a while back with Essence of Vali so I totally took advantage of that & bought some of their mists. I’m the kind of person who’s easily affected by my senses. That means if something smells good, tastes good, feels good or looks good, I’m all over it! That’s one reason why I love aromatherapy so much. A good whiff of aromatherapy can change my mood & can trigger happy memories. For example, oranges remind me of sunshine & summer. So I was really looking forward to getting my paws on some new aromatherapy. I’d previously been using Lotus Wei, which can get quite expensive. I got six different mists from Essence of Vali to try. Note: All images are from the Essence of Vali website & all items reviewed below are available only on Essence of Vali.

eov-fortify_comfort_mist_shop_large

Fortify – Comfort Mist:
I don’t use this mist as much as the others. But it is a nice, grounding blend. Because of the tree essences I do find that it is grounding which in turn is soothing as well. On days when I’m too much in my mind & not in my body this helps me to remember to stop, take a deep breath & appreciate life. Essential oils used: cedarwood, rosewood & spruce.
Cost: $8.50 USD, 2 fl oz / 60 ml

eov-calm_mist_t_large

Calm – Relax Mist:
Nicely soothing. It’s close to sleep in that it has a relaxing effect on me. it’s great for enhancing the feeling of a lazy Sunday morning or just as an add-on to sleep before bedtime. Essenial oils used: lavender, orange & ylang ylang.
Cost: $8.50 USD, 2 fl oz / 60 ml

eov-refresh_energy_mist_t_large

Refresh – Energy Mist:
I keep this bottle at work in my desk drawer. I have to say this mist is one I keep reaching for. I like the combination of citrus oils & the smell is a nice little pick me up when I’m feeling in need of a little energy. Perfect for use at the office, especially in the afternoons when my energy tends to lag a bit. Helps me finish off my work day with a zing of energy. Essential oils used: orange, lemon & grapefruit.
Cost: $8.50 USD, 2 fl oz / 60 ml

eov-uplift_mood_mist_shop_large

Uplift- Mood Mist:
I can really smell the bergamot in this one. I like the smell of bergamot, it reminds me of a good cup of Earl Grey Tea. I keep this bottle at home & like to use it when I need to focus a little bit. Like when I’m writing blog posts! Essential oils used: lavender, spruce, bergamot & litsea cubeba.
Cost: $8.50 USD, 2 fl oz / 60 ml

eov-relief_ease_mist_shop_large

Relief – Ease Mist:
This one is great for sore muscles. The peppermint makes it smell a bit medicinal but it’s also cooling. I think this would be amazing to use in the summertime when I come home all sweaty & sore from a long hike in nature. Essential oils used: lavender, peppermint & birch.
Cost: $8.50 USD, 2 fl oz / 60 ml

eov-detox_renew_mist_shop_large

Detox – Renew:
This is the other one I use a lot as well. Must be the citrus smells that attracts me. But it does help with fatigue. I haven’t used it yet for jet lag as I haven’t traveled since I bought this. But I think Detox combined with Sleep would work very well for jet lag. Essential oils used: grapefruit, lemon, cypress & juniper.
Cost: $8.50 USD, 2 fl oz / 60 ml

I also received some free samples with my order of the mists. Below are my thoughts on the samples.

eov-sleep_mini_vials_shop_large

Sleep Mini Vial:
Now this really fits its name. I love, love, love Sleep & actually find it more soothing than Lotus Wei’s Quiet Mind & Inner Peace which I was using as my night time ritual before I got Essence of Vali. I love to put this on the inside of my wrists & breathe it in before bedtime.  Somehow the combination of scents helps me to unwind & stops the chatter in my head when I’m overstimulated from using the computer or iphone all day.  Essential oils used: lavender, marjoram, cedarwood & ylang ylang.
Cost: mini vial, $1.00 USD, 0.2 oz

eov-sleep_massage_oil_large
Image of full sized massage oil

Sleep Massage Oil:
I received a small sample size of this as well.  The massage oil version of Sleep is great as too. But I prefer the mini vial version or even the mist since I don’t have to wait too long for it to be absorbed into my skin. Essential oils used: lavender, marjoram, cedarwood & ylang ylang.
Cost: Full size, $13.00 USD, 2oz & $20.00 USD, 4oz

eov-passion_massage_oil

Passion Massage Oil:
The sample size of the passion massage oil is great. In my mind, it has a very soft, romantic type of scent. Maybe it should be called Romance instead? But then I can’t picture a guy picking up a bottle that says Romance on it to use as a massage oil. Ha ha. Passion sounds more manly.  Essential oils used: orange, ylang ylang, patchouli & ginger.
Cost: Full size, $15.00 USD, 2oz & $20.00 USD, 4oz

eov-eau_de_perfum_shop_large
Image of full sized EOV

EOV – A very nice smelling, more perfume-like scent. It’s strong but that can be good as it lasts throughout the day. Essential oils used: lavender, rosewood, cedarwood, patchouli, palmarosa, geranium, litsea cubeba & clove.
Cost: full size, $60.00 USD, 2oz

Overall impression:
I’m going to nitpick since it’s hard to find much wrong with Essence of Vali’s products.  Things I like about Essence of Vali is that it’s more affordable than some other aromatherapy lines out there & they ship promptly to Canada.  I also like that they have each scent in different formats (oil, mist, diffuser, balm, etc). But I find the different descriptions of each mist a little confusing. It would be nice if it just said Energy Mist or Refresh & not both. Simple is better in my books when I’m trying to decide what I need for the day. It’s nice when you pick up a product & don’t have to guess what it’s supposed to do. Also, Uplift & Refresh smell quite similar to my nose, as well as Detox & Calm.  So I would probably opt for buying one over the other.  On the other hand, it’s good to have more options if you want aromatherapy for a more specific use. Has anyone else tried Essence of Vali ? What did you think of it?
Rating: 4/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

