Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Holistic Vanity, Damage Care Intro Kit

Leave a comment

I’ve finally finished all of the items in my Damage Care Intro Kit & I can post my review. I’ve already repurchased the full size of the lotion but I hadn’t finished the other things in the kit so I figured I would wait to write a full review for everything. So here it is at long last!
holvan-intro
Source

Rejuvenating Rosewater Cleanser:
This cleanser comes out a white opaque liquid when you pump it out onto your hand. It has a light, creamy consistency & smells so nice to my nose. The main ingredients are rose water, ginseng, tamanu oil, & geranium. I normally don’t like the smell of roses but in this cleanser it’s so mild I can barely smell it. One sign of a good product is how well the different scents of the ingredients blend together. So let’s just say this product is a party for my nose! In terms of effectiveness it really does what it’s advertised to do: “provides a deep-pore cleanse without stripping the skin or its barrier function.” I was using  the trial size during my morning showers to wash off whatever treatment I’d left on my face the night before. It never left my skin feeling dry. Rather, my skin felt hydrated & smooth. I even noticed a reduction in acne breakouts. This cleanser made my Best of 2013 list

Cost: Intro Kit size $68.00 CAD for set of 4 items, 20 ml each, Full size $30.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 5/5

Regenerating Seabuckthorn Oil:
This oil is actually a blend of Seabuckthorn & Evening Primrose oil. I’ve been using this oil for the evening as it helps diminish red spots from old acne blemishes & it seems to be better at keeping my face hydrated during the night. I have to say though, I don’t like the smell too much. It’s a bit musty smelling. That’s the evening primrose oil. On a side note, I had purchased a bottle of pure evening primrose oil to use on my body, not realizing the smell would drive me away from using it. Mind you, in this blend, it’s not a very strong scent. The mustiness totally disappears once the oil is absorbed into my skin.

Cost: Intro Kit size $68.00 CAD for set of 4 items, 20 ml each, Full size $58.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 4/5

hol-van-damagecareline
Full size products Source

Restorative Raw Argan Oil: I like to use this during the day as it clarifies my skin & isn’t too oily-looking after I put my makeup on. There isn’t much of a smell to argan oil. It has a firming effect on my skin which I like, especially for the day time. Well, argan oil has anti-inflammatory properties so that makes sense. It also protects from premature signs of aging. It’s a win-win in my books!

Cost: Intro Kit size $68.00 CAD for set of 4 items, 20 ml each, Full size $58.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 5/5

Brightening Hyaluronic Lotion: So soothing, mild & hydrating. After my recent allergic reaction this seems to be the only lotion I can use (besides the cream the dermatologist prescribed) that isn’t irritating my skin. I finished the intro size a while back & I’ve already repurchased a full sized bottle. I have to say, I really like this lotion. My skin feels really hydrated, dewy & smooth after I put it on.

Cost: Intro Kit size $68.00 CAD for set of 4 items, 20 ml each, Full size $68.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 5/5

Overall review:
This is a really nice intro kit. If you have sensitive skin you can’t go wrong here.  My skin hasn’t reacted to anything in this line.  My skin is both sensitive & acne prone so that’s saying a lot.  Also the 20 ml sizes are more than generous & lasted me a long time. So that helped me really gauge how well each product was working on my skin. Since I was alternating between the Seabuckthorn Oil & the Argan Oil they lasted me an extra long time. More than 2 months worth of use.  I’m not sure which oil I like better! As is usually the case, I like both of the oils, but for different purposes. They’ve changed up the intro kits now to include the Repairing Rosehip Skin Tonic (instead of the two oils). I might just buy another intro kit with the skin tonic so I can try it first without buying the full size!

Rating: 5/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

