Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Book Review: The Green Beauty Guide by @JulieGabriel

Leave a comment

Book-green beauty guide-julie gabriel
Image Source: Amazon.com

About the author:
Julie Gabriel is the founder of Petite Marie Organics, a former magazine beauty editor, a journalist, a holistic nutritionist, and author of several books on natural beauty, health and nutrition.

Book Review:
The Green Beauty Guide by Julie Gabriel was published in 2008. But it’s still pretty relevant even by today’s standards.  I think this is a great book for someone who’s first learning about green beauty or eco-friendly beauty. It would also be great for someone who is more familiar with the green beauty world and who wants to try their hand at more DIY recipes.

There are a lot of great things about going the DIY route.  Let’s face it, you and I both know that beauty products are not always cheap. By doing DIY you can control your costs as it’s usually cheaper than buying a ready made product. Also, you know exactly what’s in each product when you make it yourself. Checking ingredient labels can get tiresome, especially when they are mostly full of chemical names the average person doesn’t know. According to a poll done by the Huffington Post about 35% of women used 1 to 2 products daily, 17% of women used 3 to 4 products daily, and 7% of women in this poll used up to 6 items daily.  It’s so easy to just grab something off the shelf and use it mindlessly. I think that if we all took time to make our own products we would probably use less of everything and value it more. As for me, I also love the feeling and imagery of being a mad scientist in my kitchen/bathroom whipping up my own little products. When I do this I feel like I’ve accomplished something valuable for the day by making something with my own hands. And I love giving my DIY products away as gifts. To me that says I care about you enough that I took some time to make something specially for you! If that doesn’t make you melt with love, I don’t know what will. Open-mouthed smile

Anyway, in the first five chapters of this book Julie Gabriel talks about the nature of skin, what ingredients to avoid or use, and the basics of green beauty DIY. Chapters 6 to 16 are the recipes for each area of green beauty. There are some simple recipes to try and there are also more complicated recipes. I’ve jotted down some recipes I’d like to try and I’ll let you know how it goes once I do try them. I liked that there was more than one recipe in each category to try.  I also like the layout of the book. It’s simple, clean and efficient. There aren’t too many pictures but that’s all right. This book is meant more as a reference book in my mind than a picture book.  All in all, I thought it was a good read.

Rating: 5/5

Has anyone else read Julie Gabriel’s Green Beauty Guide? What did you think of it?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

