Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Product Review: Organic Lifestyle, Organic Cotton Sheet Set

Leave a comment

In early March I bought a Organic Cotton, 325 Thread Count Sheet Set in Sky Blue from Organic Lifestyle for our new non-toxic bed. Yes, eco hubby & I bought a new King sized bed. It’s not 100% organic but it is non-toxic.  The review for the bed itself will be posted later. Anyhoot, the double bed we’d been using (also non-toxic) was one I’d bought during my single days. But the way eco hubby & I sleep (I’m a starfish & he sleeps on a diagonal) we needed more space. Add to that mix a tall, medium haired, lovable furry cat & we three were kinda squished in my lil ole double bed. Did I also mention that I’m mildly claustrophobic?  Yeah, it was time for a larger bed.

Since we went to the expense & trouble of buying a non-toxic bed it didn’t make sense to me to buy toxic bed sheets.  It’s true that organic cotton sheets are pricey but if you are paranoid like I am about offgassing & how every product you use affects the environment, then organic is the only way to go. Some information about organic vs non-organic cotton first before my review.

cotton
This is what organic cotton looks like. Isn’t cute?
Image Source

Non-organic cotton is laden with pesticides & when processed into fabrics this stays in the material. Offgassing occurs when the fabric releases the chemicals into the air. This happens naturally over time as fabrics get worn out. Organic cotton is made from plants that are not genetically modified & not treated with chemical fertilizers or pesticides. Organic cotton farming also has a smaller ecological footprint & reduces soil erosion. While organic cotton may not be 100% free of pesticides at least it will have reduced amounts of toxic chemicals that your body won’t know how to deal with. As my mom always taught me, better to be safe than sorry.

And now, on to my review. Honestly, I could tell the difference between organic & non-organic cotton when I opened the package.  The sheet set didn’t smell that plasticky newness smell. The fabric is 325 thread count & I got them in the sky blue colour. It has a bit of a sheen to it & feels smooth. I’m a sucker for things that feel great. I washed them before we slept on it. My verdict? Drumroll please. I think these sheets are great! I do hope they last a long time. While I bought these on sale, they still cost a pretty penny. I would repurchase but probably only when a) I’m flush with cash & don’t need to buy anything else, b) when they are on sale & c) when my old set gets worn out. Remember, these sheets are King sized sheets so they are the most expensive size. The sheet set came with 1 fitted sheet, 1 flat sheet & 2 pillow cases.

Cost: Sale price, $191.54 CAD, King Size Sheet Set, regular price is $339.00 CAD
Available at: Organic Lifestyle, retail & online store in Toronto
Rating: 4/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

