Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

March/April: Empties

Leave a comment

This past couple of months were full of experimentation for me. Some hits & some misses. Mostly misses. LOL. I’m starting to think I should go back to some of the other things I was using before!

afragreen
Image Source

Afragreen Black Seed Soap
Full review to be posted next week. I liked this soap, but a little iffy about the palm kernel oil. So I’m not sure I would repurchase for that reason. But would definitely check out the other products Afragreen makes to see if anything appeals to me.
Cost: $4.99 CAD, 4oz
Available at: Healthy Planet Canada, Well.ca
Rating: 4/5

haut-biomf_thumb_thumb
Image Source

Haut Cosmetics Bio-Mineral Foundation
See full review here. I’ve repurchased this mineral foundation ever since I was first introduced to it through Clean Care. It’s the closest match to my natural skin tone & it also wears really well for a full day of work. This is my HG foundation. Big plus that it’s made by a Canadian company!
Cost: $59.00 CAD, 10g
Available at: Haut Cosmetics
Rating: 5/5

now-lav
Image Source

Now Lavender Essential Oil
Lavender is one of my fave essential oils. Plus it’s great for the scalp & skin. I put this in my DIY Hair Conditioning Rinse & other DIY recipes. The Weir’s Lane lavender essential oil smells different than this one. I’d rather go with Canadian made. So we’ll see how the Weir’s Lane compares.
Cost: $15.99 CAD, 30 ml
Available at: Healthy Planet Canada
Rating: 3/5

pennylane-hemp

Penny Lane Organics, Hemp Oil
My first time using hemp oil was a mixed bag of results. I liked hemp oil for use on my hair or body. It’s a nice mid-weight oil. But for oil cleansing it didn’t work for me. It just broke me out even more & somehow my skin ended up drier. I won’t be repurchasing this for oil cleansing though I might repurchase for other uses.
Cost: $5.25 CAD, 30 ml
Available at: Penny Lane Organics
Rating: 3/5

now-evening
Image Source

Now Evening Primrose Oil
I find the smell of this oil off putting. It’s a kind of musty smell which I don’t like. So I mixed some tea tree & lavender in to mask the smell. That made it more bearable. Still as a body oil I think there are better oils out there. Grapeseed oil felt nicer on my skin & has no discernable smell.
Cost: $15.88 CAD, 4oz / 118 ml
Available at: Ambrosia Natural Foods
Rating: 3/5

drb-lav
Image Source

Dr. Bronner’s Magic Conditioner & Hair Cream, Lavender
I love Dr. Bronner’s castile soap. I was hoping I would like their hair cream as well. It comes out of the pump thick & almost paste-like.  I think it would be good as a hair mask when your hair is really dry & damaged. But it’s too greasy for me to use daily & tends to build up. I also found it hard to wash out when I wanted to get rid of the residue. As for scent, I couldn’t even smell the lavender in this product. This might be better for people with super dry, thick hair but it was a bit too much for mine.
Cost: $7.93 CAD, 177ml / 6 fl.oz
Available at: Saffron Rouge
Rating: 3/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

