Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

April/May: Empties

2 Comments

Stark-Meadowfoam
Image Source

Stark Skincare, Meadowfoam Body Oil (sample)
Given the ingredients it’s not a big surprise that Stark’s body oil worked very nicely to give me smooth skin. I only had the sample size so it was only enough for one use. But I can usually tell how good a body oil is on first use anyway. I liked this one. The smell is very mild. As body oils go it absorbed into my skin without leaving me too greasy. Which can be particularly useful if you’re in a rush or getting ready for work in the morning. I would repurchase this in the future.
Cost: Sample size: $0.75 CAD, Full size: $42.00 CAD, 120 ml/4 oz
Available at: Fresh Faced, Stark Skincare
Rating: 4/5

MVO-vet-lav-oil
Image Source

Marie Veronique Organics, Vetiver & Lavender Body Oil (sample)
What can I say? I went a little body oil sample crazy. LOL. I don’t normally get two body oil samples in an order. But I hadn’t tried this one yet so I said, why not? This body oil works just as well as Stark’s did above. However I’ve discovered that I’m not a fan of the smell of vetiver. It’s for that reason alone I wouldn’t repurchase this. It’s also a bit more pricey than Stark’s body oil.
Cost: Sample Size: $0.75 CAD, Full size: $65.00 CAD, 120 ml/4 oz
Available at: Fresh Faced, Marie Veronique Organics, Lilou Organics
Rating: 3/5

holistic-v-lotion
Image Source

Holistic Vanity, Brightening Hyaluronic Lotion
I’ve repurchased & used this lotion before. See my previous review for more details. It’s a wonderful, non-irritating & hydrating lotion. I may repurchase this again in the future. But for now I’m trying new things.
Cost: $68.00 CAD, 100 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Rating: 4/5

Pure-Simple-pure-face-serum
Image Source

Pure + Simple, Pure Skin Face Serum
Full review to come. If you’ve read my review on the Afragreen Black Seed Soap, you’ll know I learned about Black Cumin Seed Oil (aka Nigella Sativa) from Kristen Ma’s article about black cumin seed. Well, not long after Kristen wrote that article Pure + Simple came out with this Pure Skin Face Serum which contains Nigella Sativa Seed Oil. I have to say I think I like this serum better than the Antipodes Hosanna H20 Serum which also addresses hydration issues. I will most definitely repurchase this in the future.
Cost: $44.95 CAD, 50 ml
Available at: Pure + Simple
Rating: 4/5

batty-patch-moisturizer
Image Source

Batty’s Bath, Patchouli Facial Moisturizer
Full review to come. This facial moisturizer is part of Batty’s Bath Acne Prone Kit which I’d been testing the past few months. As you can see from the picture it comes in a lovely glass jar. The moisturizer itself is quite thick. I found it a bit too oily for wear during the work day. But it’s great for use at night. I also used some on my body & it made my skin as smooth as a baby’s butt! I’m not sure if I like it better as a facial moisturizer or as a body moisturizer! I would definitely repurchase this. It might even become a staple in my cosmetics drawer. This would be a godsend during the colder, drier winter weather.
Cost: $12.00 CAD, 2oz / 60g
Available at: Batty’s Bath
Rating: 5/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

2 thoughts on “April/May: Empties

  1. Fab collection of empties! I love the smell of patchouli and now I want to try that Batty’s Bath moisturizer

Leave a Reply

