Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Product Review: @leavesoftreesTO

6 Comments

In March I was lucky enough to win a prize from a Green Living contest. What I won was pretty fabulous I think: A set of four Leaves of Trees products! Leaves of Trees is a skincare company based in Toronto. They have signed the Just Beautiful Pledge with Environmental Defence to exclude certain chemicals from their products. NOTE: All images are from the Leaves of Trees website.

loft-lav-lotion

Lavender Argan Hand and Body Lotion

Ingredients:
Argania spinosa (argan) nut oil, Theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, Cetearyl alcohol, Sodium cetearyl sulfate, Lavandula officinalis (lavender) oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract (and) Glycerin, Tocopherol (vitamin E).

This is a nice, solid lotion. It feels substantial and luxurious when I squeeze it out of its tube. Smells great too. But I’m a fan of lavender which is what you will smell from this lotion. It works equally well as a hand lotion and body lotion. In fact I took it with me when I had to do an overnight stay out of town and it was nice not to have to bring a separate bottle of hand or body lotion. Two in one! The lavender smell does dissipate once the lotion dries on your skin. But doesn’t immediately wash off if you use it on your hands. That’s a great thing as I wash my hands a lot.  I would repurchase this in the future and I would even give this as a gift. If you don’t like lavender their lotion also comes in different scents: Frankincense, Orange Blossom, Pink Grapefruit, Rose Cardamom and Unscented.

Cost: $25.00 CAD, 150 ml
(also available in 37 ml size)
Rating: 5/5

loft-eu-oil

Eucalyptus Argan Oil

Ingredients:
Argania spinosa (argan) nut oil and Eucalyptus globulus essential oil.

Gotta love a two ingredient product! This is as pure as it gets. It says on the bottle it can be used for shaving. But I actually used it as a body oil. My skin felt silky smooth after putting this on coming straight out of the shower. Though it does take a few minutes to absorb so best not to use it when you’re in a rush. Everyone seems to be doing argan oil these day. I haven’t found my favourite yet. But it’s always great to see a Toronto company making this kind of product. Not sure yet if I will repurhase as I’m currently having a crush on barbary fig seed oil as opposed to argan oil. Also available in: Lavender, Orange Blossom and Unscented.

Cost: $60.00 CAD, 100 ml
(also available in 5 ml and 50 ml sizes)
Rating: 4/5

loft-deo

Deodorant, Eucalyptus Mint

Ingredients: Kaolin (clay), Sodium bicarbonate, Argania spinosa (argan) nut oil, Theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, Cetearyl alcohol, Sodium cetearyl sulfate, Azadirachta indica (neem) oil, Eucalyptus globulus (eucalyptus) oil, Mentha arvensis (peppermint) oil, Citrus grandis (grapefruit) seed extract and glycerin, Tocopherol (vitamin E).

This deodorant works! I did get a rash after using it every day for 1 week straight. So I had to take a break. Leaves of Trees advised me to use less. So I’m trying that now. Day two so far and its looking good. It looks like tooth paste because of the tube it’s in. But you don’t want to put this in your mouth. LOL. Might be too abrasive with the sodium bicarbonate in it.  The Eucalyptus Mint feels tingly on my skin but that goes away after a minute or so. I’m wondering what the lavender tangerine smells like. I would consider repurchasing if I don’t get another rash. 🙂 Also available in: Lavender Tangerine.

Cost: $15.00 CAD, 37 ml
Rating: 4/5

leaves-of-trees-coffee argan scrub

Coffee Argan Scrub

Ingredients:
Coffee Arabica (coffee) seed oil and Hydrogenated soy oil (non-GM), Sucrose (brown-sugar), Argania spinosa (argan) nut oil, Vanilla plantifolia (vanilla) bean

This scrub comes in a toothpaste-like tube, similar to the deodorant (see picture above) and because of the size it’s great for traveling. My tube got clogged a bit at first and nothing would come out, but I just used a safety pin to unclog it. It hasn’t clogged again since then. In any case, this is a great scrub.  Again, I love how short the ingredients list is!  Five ingredients! It’s amazing what you can do with just five ingredients if they are combined just right. I like using this scrub on my feet, elbows and knees. It’s smoothes any rough patch of skin on the body. I wouldn’t use this on my face since my skin is very sensitive. Due to the coffee seed oil, soy oil, and argan oil my skin stays moisturized besides getting the exfoliation from the brown sugar.  That’s a great combination in my books. I would repurchase this in a different scent though, since coffee isn’t really my thing. Also available in: Eucalyptus Seaweed, Grapefruit Tangerine, Lavender Argan and Lemon Verbena.

Cost: $15.00 CAD, 37 ml
(also available in 110 ml size)
Rating: 5/5

All of the above products are available at Leaves of Trees online or at their retail store on 177 Queen St. E. Or take a look at their list of stockists here.

Have you ever tried Leaves of Trees?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

6 thoughts on “Product Review: @leavesoftreesTO

  1. The coffee argan scrub looks amazing! xx

  2. I’ve never heard of this brand before, I’m intrigued! Good to know about the deodorant as well!

  3. I LOVE Leaves of Trees! This is such a great review. I love how thorough you are!!!

Leave a Reply

