Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

DIY: Blemish Treatment

4 Comments

I modified this DIY recipe from the No More Dirty Looks blog, Thyme Toner recipe & made it into a spot treatment. It works great as a spot/blemish treatment!

DIY-Thyme-spot-treatment-2

Ingredients:

2-3 tbsp dried organic thyme
6 tbsp witch hazel
1/8 tsp lavender essential oil (optional)
1/8 tsp rosemary essential oil (optional)

Instructions:

Place the thyme in an air tight glass jar (like a mason jar) & pour the witch hazel on top. Let it steep for 3 days (or less if you don’t want it as strong). Once you’re finished steeping, strain the thyme out of the witch hazel. I used a tea strainer for this. If desired, add the lavender & rosemary essential oils for extra anti-septic power. Transfer to the container of your desire. I used an empty glass rollerball container that had previously been used for roll on perfume. That way I don’t need to use a cotton pad or swab to apply it. I just roll it directly onto my blemishes. Store the rest of the spot treatment in the fridge for up to a month.

DIY-Thyme-spot-treatment-1 (1)
Finished Blemish Treatment in rollerball.

I’ve been using this on my blemishes & it works really well! It has a slight brownish tinge when I put it on my skin but that goes away once my skin absorbs it. It doesn’t stain my skin at all.  Now I won’t have to buy anymore acne spot treatments from the store unless I need to test out a new brand for my blog. Smile

Have you ever tried making your own blemish treatment? If you try this one please let me know how it turned out for you!

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

4 thoughts on “DIY: Blemish Treatment

  1. Definitely going to have to try this! Nice post!
    —Grace

  2. I use toothpaste! Just dab a bit on the spot, and it dries up over night…seriously!!

Leave a Reply

