Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Eco Fashion Haul: @LilikoiClothing

Leave a comment

Processes
Image Source

Earlier in July Lilikoi Clothing had a 50% off sale and I took that as an opportunity to get myself some things I’d been missing from my wardrobe. Most of these are for fall weather, but why not? I didn’t want to wait until the clearance sales on Boxing Day. So here’s a review of what I ordered from Lilikoi Clothing.

Bullet points about Lilikoi Clothing:

*   “The word “lilikoi” means passion fruit in Hawaii.”
*   Operates out of an office in Nelson, BC, Canada
*   Designer: Barbara Boswell Schutter
*   Barbara studied at KSA in Nelson, BC graduating in 2003. She also studied at the University of Hawaii at Manoa
*   Ethical: All cutting, printing, sewing, and design work is done by local Canadian employees who are well paid for their skill.
*   Sustainable: Uses sustainable fibres such as bamboo and organically grown cotton and linen wherever possible. Takes care in choosing fabrics and suppliers
*   Sizes range from XS to 2X. See size chart here.

Excerpts taken from Lilikoi Clothing Biography page.

Georgia dolman (2)

Georgia Dolman Sleeved Top

This is a nice basic long sleeve top. It’s light enough to be worn alone in 15C weather with pants and when winter comes around I will layer it will a blazer on top. I work in an office so yeah, we have to look spiffy. The feel of the material is nice. It’s smooth against the skin. I don’t know about you but I can’t stand wearing scratchy clothing. It drapes nicely too. The thing about Dolman sleeves is that sometimes they can look too baggy. But Lilikoi has a nice balance here with the sleeves. They are neither too full nor too tight.

Materials: Viscose from Bamboo/Organic cotton/Spandex blend
Color: Teal (Also available in: Gray, Black, Plum & Navy)
Cost: $69.00 CAD

Lorelai-pullover_thumb.jpg

Image Source

Loralei Draped Pullover

Ummm. This was a bit of an impulse buy. It looked great on the website. But when I put it on it makes me look five times bigger than I really am. The draping in the front isn’t slimming in any way. Though it looks fine in on the dolly in the picture. Maybe I needed a smaller size? Anyway, I decided not to return it and just keep this for  at home wear. I think this item is sold out because I can’t find it on the site anymore, hence no link to it.

Materials: Viscose from Bamboo/Organic cotton/Spandex blend
Color: Plum
Cost: $84.00 CAD

Elisa
Image Source

Elisa Top

This top is basically the same style and shape as the Georgia Dolman Sleeve Top but it has a printed design on the side. Same comments as the Georgia Top. I like the print on the side of this shirt. It’s made in the same fabric weight as the Georgia Dolman Sleeve so it can be worn alone or easily layered with in colder weather. Dahlia is a nice mauve-pink colour which looks good on my skin tone.  Here’s an instagram pic of me wearing the top, below.

Wearing one of my @LilikoiClothing tops today! #canadian #ecofriendly #clothing

A post shared by Hazel (@radiant_reiki) on

Materials: Viscose from Bamboo/Organic cotton/Spandex blend
Color: Dahlia (Also available in: Black, Teal & Grey)
Cost: $79.00 CAD

Amelie Shrug with Dress

Amelie Shrug

This shrug is great for pairing with dresses where you want a pop of colour. The shrug’s material feels nice against the skin and covers the shoulders and arms. This is perfect for me to use at the office and keeps me warm enough when the AC is blasting away. I’ve pictured it above with my Annie 50 dress which I bought from Fresh Collective years ago.

Materials: Viscose from Bamboo/Organic cotton/Spandex blend
Color: Fuchsia (Also available in: Black, Teal, Grey, Navy and Plum)
Cost: $69.00 CAD

All clothing mentioned above is available at: Lilikoi Clothing or Click here for a list of retailers

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

