Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

June/July: Empties

2 Comments

empties-june-july

Leaves of Trees, Coffee Argan Scrub
Read full review here. I’m testing out another scrub right now. I have to say that I keep comparing it to this one which I like soooo much better. The toothpaste-like tube makes it so no muss no fuss. Plus the scent of this scrub is so strong. But I think I’ll try the Grapefruit/Tangerine scent next time.
Cost: $15.00 CAD, 37 ml / 1.25 oz
(also available in 110 ml / 4 oz)
Available at:
Leaves of Trees, List of stockists, Fresh Faced
Rating:
5/5

Holistic Vanity, Aloe Kumari Cleanser
Read full review here. This is a nice, gentle cleanser and I think I actually like it better than the Holistic Vanity, Rosewater Cleanser. Will probably repurchase in the future.
Cost: $28.00 CAD, 100 ml / 3.38 oz
Available at: Pure + Simple
Rating: 5/5

Haut Cosmetics, Beige Brightener (sample)
Read full review here. This brightener is multipurpose. It can be used as both a concealer and a highlighter. I’ve been using it as a concealer and a little goes a long way so the sample size is usually perfect for me. I finished my little pot and am trying a different concealer right now but I may repurchase this in the future.
Cost: Sample size: $6.00 CAD
Full size: $29.50 CAD, 4.25 g / 0.15 oz
Available at: Haut Cosmetics
Rating: 4/5

Haut Cosmetics, Bio Mineral Foundation in Burnt Almond (refill)
Read full review here. I’ve repurchased this foundation many times. Haut now has this available as a refill instead of getting the container with sifter lid every time. I like this idea as the refill option is also cheaper and saves them from having to buy more containers that aren’t needed.
Cost: Refill: $49.95 CAD, 10 g / 0.35 oz
With Container: $59.00 CAD, 10 g / 0.35 oz
Available at: Haut Cosmetics
Rating: 5/5

La Bella Figura, Modern Radiance Concentrate
This stuff is incredibly pricey. Having said that, I bought this bottle in February and gave almost half to my mom to share it with her.  It still lasted me until the end of July. Six months is pretty good, y’all! Looking back, I could’ve just used one pump for my whole face instead of two and then it would have lasted even longer. As for performance, it worked amazingly well at fading my dark spots. Every day the dark spots got lighter until they disappeared. This would be a 5/5 except for the price. Not everyone can afford to lay down so much money for one item. Not sure if I will repurchase this in the future. I’m currently looking to see if I can I find something that works just as well but costs less.
Cost: $169.00 CAD, 30 ml / 1.0 oz
Available at: Clementine Fields, Husk, Eco Diva Beauty
Rating: 4/5

Lily of the Desert, Aloe Vera Gel
No review. According to Adria Vasil, author of Ecoholic, this isn’t the greatest aloe vera gel out there. She gives it a 3 out of 4 rating. Read her article on aloe vera here. But this brand is easily found in most natural food stores. I’ve never heard of or seen Avivir Aloe Gel in any of the natural food stores or online shops I buy from. Anyway, I used this aloe vera gel to make my own leave-in conditioner and hair gel. It works well, but I will be looking for a better aloe vera gel in the future.
Cost: $7.99, 342 g / 12 oz
Available at: Healthy Planet, Nutrition House, Big Carrot
Rating: 3/5

Susdatorium, Conditioner Sampler Set, Hawaii Five Oh and Okra
Winfrey Conditioners

Review to come. I heard about Sudsatorium on twitter and I just had to get some of their products to test them out. I got the conditioner sampler set and a sample size of their Butterfingers hand cream. The first conditioners from the sampler set I finished were the Hawaii Five Oh and the Okra Winfrey. First of all, oh my goodness do these conditioners smell good! They smell very strongly even after my hair dried. I got lots of compliments on how good I smelled while using these conditioners. If you’re sensitive to scents though, these might be too strong for you. Hawaii Five Oh smells like what you would expect, coconutty!  It’s white in colour, smooth in texture and made my hair very shiny. Plus I love the name of this product. Every time I looked at the bottle the theme for Hawaii Five Oh (the tv show) would go through my head. LOL. The next conditioner I finished was Okra Winfrey. Okra Winfrey is a green coloured, somewhat chunky and thick conditioner. I would have liked to see it blended into a smoother texture. My hair smelled very pretty after using this and it also conditioned my hair nicely. Though I found I would still frizz out when the weather got humid. I’ll do a full review of the conditioner sampler set when I’ve used all the 13 sample sizes up.
Cost: $58.95 CAD, 60 ml / 2 oz
Available at:
Sudsatorium Etsy Shop
Rating:
 4/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

2 thoughts on “June/July: Empties

  1. These all look like pretty good products! I’ll need to try them out sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

