Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

August/September: Empties

Leave a comment

Aura Cacia Grapeseed Oil

Grapeseed oil is a lot like Jojoba Oil. It doesn’t have much of a smell either. While Jojoba is a heavier oil, grapeseed is lighter and easier to spread on my skin. This oil is better used during the summer months because it’s lighter. It’s a light golden yellow in appearance and for me it feels like it sits on the surface of my skin, providing a barrier to environmental pollutants. I don’t think I’ll repurchase this oil as fall is now coming and this will be too light for use come winter time. I’m also experimenting with other oils. Oh, another thing about grapeseed oil, it’s also used in cooking! But make sure if you put the cooking oil on your skin that it’s organic.
Cost: $6.29 CAD, 118 ml / 4.0 oz
Available at: Well.ca, Healthy Planet, Ambrosia Natural Foods
Rating: 4/5

Now Solutions, Jojoba Oil

Jojoba Oil doesn’t really have much of a smell so it’s perfect for those who are scent sensitive or purists. It’s medium golden yellow in appearance but completely absorbs into the skin. I like to use it just after my shower as I find having damp skin helps to spread the oil easier. Jojoba oil is a medium weight oil in my books. It’s nice and moisturizing but not overly heavy. It’s also a common ingredient in DIY recipes so it can be useful to have it around. Besides using this for the skin you can also use this on your hair. But only put as much as necessary, otherwise you’ll end up with greasy, lanky hair. I like to repurchase this oil every now and then to keep it on hand.
Cost: $16.99 CAD, 118 ml / 4.0 oz
Available at: Well.ca, Healthy Planet, Ambrosia Natural Foods
Rating: 4/5

Susdatorium, Conditioner Sampler Set, Umpa Lumpa and Unscentsed

Review of Conditioner Sampler Set to come. I’ll do a full review of the conditioner sampler set when I’ve used all the 13 sample sizes up. Umpa Lumpa is coloured purple and smells very strongly of the tropical fruits that make up its main ingredients list. The smell was too strong for me so I had to water it down. But it really did a great job at making my hair soft and manageable. Unscentsed on the other hand, was completely unscented and that was quite refreshing too. I didn’t try it as a detangler but it works nicely as a conditioner. All of Sudsatorium’s conditioners are generally really good in quality. So far it’s been pretty hard to get a conditioner that doesn’t do it job very well. I think I may repurchase Unscentsed in the future to try it out as a detangler.
Cost: $58.95 CAD, 60 ml / 2 oz
Available at: Sudsatorium Etsy Shop
Rating: 4/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

