Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

DIY: 5 Step Home Facial Routine

Leave a comment

Every woman I know loves a good facial at the spa. Who wouldn’t? We women work hard and a facial is a nice way to treat ourselves to some much deserved pampering. But facials can get expensive. I also find that doing some basic maintenance once a week can help keep your skin in great condition. That way, you can go in and get a facial only when your skin really needs it. Once per change of season is good in my mind. So this is the 5 Step Home Facial Routine I follow to keep my skin in tip top shape.


Source

  1. Cleanse

I usually do my facial on a Saturday morning so my skin is already clean. But sometimes I do my facials after getting home from work. If that’s the case, then I would remove all of my makeup before doing anything else. I like to double cleanse. I remove most of my makeup with Jane Iredale’s Magic Mitt and then do a second cleanse with a two ingredient cleanser I make at home.


Source

  1. Steam

A good steam opens your pores and gets all the junk out. I personally steam my face for five minutes or more. The length of the steam depends on the condition of my skin. Steam longer if your skin feels congested or looks dull. If you’re new to steaming or you have sensitive skin, you may want to steam for a shorter amount of time until you get used to it. I use a facial steamer like the one above by Conair. I’ve had this steamer for years. You can buy one at most department stores. I bought mine at The Bay. But it’s also available at Shop.ca and Amazon.ca.

Source

  1. Mask

Next up is putting on the mask of your choice. This of course depends on what your skin needs. If detoxing, use a clay mask. If your skin is dry a hydrating mask. If you skin is freaking out a calming mask. You get the idea. Let the mask sit on your face for the appropriate amount of time and then wash off with warm water. Above is one of my favourite detox masks by May Lindstrom, called the Problem Solver. Read my empties post on this mask here.


Source

  1. Exfoliate

After washing the mask off, I like to use an exfoliator. I know everyone says it’s better to exfoliate before you put on the mask. But I actually like to exfoliate afterwards. My skin feels a lot smoother if I use an exfoliator afterwards. Above is a picture of my favourite chemical exfoliator by Pure + Simple. It’s easy to use and gentle on the skin (Read review here).

  1. Moisturize

This is the last step of my home facial routine. After washing the exfoliator off my face I moisturize with a good facial oil like Lavina’s Barbary Fig Seed Oil (Read review here). Then if I’m going out I will put on my facial primer and apply makeup. If I’m staying in I’ll add a facial serum like Pure + Simple’s Pure Skin Face Serum.

That’s it for my home facial routine. What is your home facial routine like?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

