Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Free Thought Fridays: Moving your body

Leave a comment


Source

Hello my dear blog readers, lately I’ve not been in much of a reading mode (hence the lack of a recent book review). I’ve been in a moving mode. But first a little background on me. Let me tell you what my exercise routine used to be like. I used to have a gym membership and I hated it. After work I would go down to the gym and mindlessly warm up on a machine before doing a circuit of weights. I felt brain dead. It was so boring. All the interesting classes weren’t scheduled until an hour and a half after I got in. I wasn’t going to spend two plus hours just waiting for a class. After a while I decided the gym thing wasn’t working for me. So I cancelled my membership and started working out at home. I would rotate doing various dvd’s. But that soon got boring as well.

Recently I started doing Blogilates and am really enjoying how it’s making me feel. For those who don’t know, Blogilates is fitness instruction by Cassey Ho. She creates Youtube workout videos and workout calendars that work various parts of your body. Her focus is on pilates but she also incorporates some dance and yoga moves. I just finished day 10 of the Beginner’s Workout Calendar today. What do I like about Blogilates? The workouts look deceptively easy (but you’ll soon feel the burn), it doesn’t take much time out of my day, there are lots of videos to choose from, Cassey is a funny and engaging instructor and the people in the forum are so supportive. Perhaps the most important thing about moving your body is that my hips and back no longer feel as tight or painful. I used to have daily pain in my hips and lower back. I think strengthening my core with pilates has helped with this issue. Anyway, my point is, do what feels right for you and your body. If what you’re currently doing isn’t working for you, don’t be afraid to try something new. It was a journey for me to get to this point.

What do you like to do to get your body moving? What has your fitness journey been like?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

