Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Free Thought Fridays: Quote on moods

Leave a comment


Source

I was thinking recently about the topic of tempers. Some people are slow to anger (like me), while others have short tempers. In the past I have spoken words in anger and pain. I’ve had others do the same to me.  I would never apologize if I’d hurt someone with my words. But after I got married I realized that I didn’t want something I’d said in the heat of the moment to permanently damage the relationship I have with my husband. It’s not always necessary to say the first thing that comes to mind when it might hurt someone, even if you think you are in the right. Sometimes we all need reminders that thoughtless words can leave a lasting effect we might not desire.

The questions you have to ask yourself is this: Do I value this relationship enough to apologize? And do I want to be the kind of person who says horrible things to people? Depending on how you answer those questions you have different options. If the answer to the first question is no, then you burn your bridges, accept the consequences, and don’t look back. If the answer is yes then serve yourself a piece of humble pie and apologize, no matter how much it galls you to do this. Your pride might fight with you on this. But in my opinion pride gets in the way of having a truly meaningful relationship with someone. For question two I would assume most people will answer no: I don’t want to be the kind of person who says horrible things to people. So then you learn how to hold your tongue. I don’t have a tendency to blurt things out, but sometimes even I have to remind myself to hold my tongue. I like to use the acronym STS.

STOP

THINK

then SPEAK.

 

What do you think about the quote above and the topic of tempers?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

