Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

December/January: Empties

Leave a comment

Jason, Aloe Vera Moisturizing Gel – No review
I use aloe vera a lot in my DIY recipes. I got this gel when I was at a Nutrition House in the mall and didn’t check the ingredients list too carefully since I was in a rush. Silly me, this gel has fragrance in it among other additives. I didn’t like the smell of the fragrance, plus there can be all sorts of ingredients that comprise “fragrance.” The aloe vera also seemed a lesser quality compared to the Avivir. I will not be repurchasing this.

Cost: $5.99 CAD, 227 g / 8 oz
Available at: Nutrition House, Well.ca
Rating: 2/5

Avivir, Aloe Vera GelReview
This is what organic aloe vera is supposed to be. It feels and smells like it was freshly harvested from an aloe plant. I was really surprised to find this at a natural foods store not far from my home. I haven’t seen it elsewhere in the city at all. Anyway, I’m very glad to have found it. It’s a bit pricey but the quality is beyond other aloe vera gels I have tried. I will definitely repurchase this.

Cost: $7.99 CAD, 100 ml / 3.3 oz
Available at: Ambrosia Natural Foods
Rating: 5/5

Holistic Vanity, Rejuvenating Rosewater CleanserReview, Best of 2013
This is one of my fave cleansers because of it’s gentleness and soothing properties. It has never irritated my skin and I just love it. I think I like it better than the Aloe Kumari Cleanser. I will definitely repurchase this.

Cost: $30.00 CAD, 100 ml / 3.4 oz
Available at: Pure + Simple
Rating: 5/5

Nourish Organic, Lavender Mint Deodorant – No Review
T
his deodorant didn’t work well for me. I had to pair it with another deodorant in order to remain stink-free all day long. Also I didn’t like the consistency. The coconut oil made it too soft and combined with the cornstarch powder it would leave a white sticky residue. It stained my clothes as well. Will not be repurchasing.

Cost: $ 9.99 CAD, 62 g / 2.1 oz
Available at: Ambrosia Natural Foods, Well.ca
Rating: 2/5

Green Beaver, Toothpaste  – No Review
This is your standard eco-friendly toothpaste. It’s a little less solid than conventional toothpaste so you’ll have to be a little careful when squeezing it out of the tube. The flavor I got was mint and it wasn’t overpowering. Soon after brushing I couldn’t taste the mint anymore. I didn’t notice any significant improvements to my teeth or gums. As for price it isn’t as expensive as some natural toothpastes can be. So if you’re looking for an ordinary toothpaste this could be the one for you. Not sure if I would repurchase. But I do like that it’s made in Canada.

Cost: $5.75 CAD, 75 ml / 2.5 oz
Available at: Ambrosia Natural Foods, Well.ca, Healthy Planet
Rating: 3/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

