Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Avivir, Aloe Vera Gel

Leave a comment

 


Source

 

Ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid, Sodium Sulphite.

Originally recommended by Adria Vasil on her Now Magazine column, I was surprised to find this at a natural food store not far from my house. I hadn’t seen it elsewhere in the city at all, so I had despaired that I would ever get to try this brand. It’s pricey, the quality is great. I wouldn’t buy this if you’re the type of person who uses large quantities of aloe vera. But if you only use it once in a while, why not? This is as close to fresh aloe vera gel as you can get if you don’t own an aloe plant. I’m usually a plant killer so for me this would be the best option that is one step away from 100% natural. The gel looks the way you would expect it to if harvested fresh from an aloe plant. It’s a goey, almost translucent greyish-white and it’s practically scentless, as fresh aloe is meant to be. I use aloe vera on my skin as well as hair and it feels cool, soothing, and smoothing. It works well in my DIY Leave-in to hydrate my dry scalp. If I get too much sun (which is a rare occurance) it soothes my sun parched skin. There are still thickeners and preservatives in this aloe vera gel, but they are safe ones.

Cost: $7.99 CAD, 100 ml / 3.3 oz
Available at: Ambrosia Natural Foods, Avivir
Rating: 4/5

Have you ever tried Avivir Aloe Vera?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

