Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

DIY: Balancing Facial Oil

2 Comments

I’ve been on a real DIY streak lately. I guess it’s because at this point in my life I’m finding that simple is better. My most recent DIY venture is making my own balancing facial oil specifically for my acne prone sensitive skin. I took a look at Osmia Organic’s ingredients list for their spot treatment for some guidance and came up with this facial oil that suits my skin’s needs perfectly. I just made this facial oil on the fly so keep in mind you may need to adjust ingredients according to your own skin type. Jojoba oil and avocado oil are both oils with stellar hydrating properties. As for the essential oils, they all have some very interesting therapeutic and aromatherapy properties that I could talk about all day long. Tea tree is antimicrobial and antifungal, as well as being effective for stimulating the immune system. Cypress is astringent, antiseptic, and works well to soothe and calm the nerves. Thyme is cleansing, purifying and aids memory and concentration. Rosemary is also astringent and great for clearing the mind and improving mental awareness.

Ingredients:

¼ cup jojoba oil
¼ cup avocado oil
2 drops tea tree essential oil
2 drops cypress essential oil
2 drops thyme essential oil
2 drops rosemary essential oil

Instructions:
Combine the oils and essential oils in a glass bottle and store in a cool, dry place for up to a month. Essential oils are very potent. If you have very sensitive skin you should probably start with just one drop of each oil (or even cut down the number of essential oils you use) and do a patch test to see if you develop a reaction. I put my oils in a glass bottle with pump top for easy dispensing.

Below is a picture of what the oils actually look like after being combined. I like to use this oil on my face after removing make up and then spritzing with toner. If I need more hydration after that, I will add a layer of moisturizer once my skin has absorbed the oil. If I have blemishes I spot treat them with a DIY blemish treatment where needed.

There you have it, my first DIY facial oil that I made without following a recipe! It’s been working wonders for my skin so far. My skin has been very balanced and hydrated lately. When I do get blemishes, they are small and disappear quickly without my having to do too much to them.

Have you ever tried making your own facial oil?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Balancing Facial Oil

  1. I love the sound of this! I’ve been experimenting with DIY beauty products lately.

Leave a Reply

