Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Product Review: Jawbone Up 24

Leave a comment

This is the first fitness tracker I’ve ever owned. After the Fitbit craze I wondered what I was missing, so I did some research and found the Jawbone Up 24. Hubby gave this to me for Christmas and now it’s March so I figured I’d had it long enough to review it. I got the black band in medium and while it fits my wrist very closely, I didn’t anticipate that a closer fit would be more uncomfortable. The first time I put it on it felt like what I imagine a handcuff would feel like: heavy, constricting and tight. The band would also get caught on my clothes if I’m wearing something with long sleeves. It’s a bit inconvenient in that regard. So I now take it off and then put it back on after I’ve finished dressing. Size-wise, I should have gotten the large instead of the medium. I think the large would have been more comfortable. Remember you have to sleep with this thing on! But when I tried the large on it looked way too big on me. That was my mistake, and I’ll live with this medium sized band until it conks out. In terms of materials, the band is made of hypoallergenic TPU rubber. It’s not an eco-friendly material, but then again none of the fitness trackers I researched are made of eco-friendly material. It would be so nice if they were though! You can view all of the stats and specs for the Jawbone Up 24 here. Below is a picture of what the Jawbone actually looks like without the rubber shell. Pretty amazing that something so small can do so much!

Source

As for software, the Up App can sync up with a large number of other apps. I like using My Fitness Pal for food tracking since they already have a large database of food items. The Up food database is still quite small and not as user friendly as the My Fitness Pal app. The Up app also tends to crash a number of times, sometimes just when I’m opening it! It can also be slow to update. Smart coach gives you advice on sleep, activity, food, etc. It keeps telling to have about 25g of fiber per day. I’ve been finding that hard to do lately, so I’m going to have to work on that. Another feature of this app is the idle alerts. If you work at desk like me, idle alerts can be useful in reminding you to get up and move. Default settings for idle alerts are 15 minutes, 30 minutes, etc. As for the sleep tracker I find that works really well. Here’s the catch though, you have to have the band on your wrist for it to work properly. Since I find the band uncomfortable due to its size, one night I tried putting it on the sleep setting and placing it on my nightstand. The next morning I found it hadn’t tracked my sleep because I wasn’t wearing it. Bummer.

L to R: Main screen, logging options, log workout screen

Besides the workout, sleep, and food logging, you can also track your mood and weight. I think the mood tracker is so cute. There’s an emoticon that you can slide up or down for the moods from amazing to down in the dumps. I don’t use the mood tracker much but maybe I should from now on. It would be interesting to see how my moods track from week to week. Every week you’ll get a summary email from Jawbone showing you how you did in each category for that week.

All in all, I’d say the Jawbone Up 24 is a good fitness tracker. I like the simplicity of use. Within 30 minutes of getting my Jawbone set up and playing with the app, I knew how to use everything. The tracking options are pretty accurate in my view as well. When I did my research the Jawbone was one of the most accurate trackers in the price range I was looking at. The battery lasts for 13 days before needing another charge, which is by USB adapter to a computer.

Pros:
-easy to use software
-smart coach is useful
-sleep tracking works well
-idle alerts
-built in alarm

Cons:
-bracelet size
-app crashes sometimes
-slow to update at times
-food tracking can be cumbersome, small database

The Jawbone 3 is supposedly coming out in April this year and that looks more comfortable since¬†the band is adjustable. I’m not sure if I’ll end up buying the new Jawbone. I might join the Fitbit bandwagon. I took a look at the Tory Burch for Fitbit collection and it has me drooling. Check out these shells below. They look more like jewelry than a fitness tracker. They’re gorgeous! Pretty pricey though at $195 CAD for just the band. The Fitbit Flex is another $120 CAD.

Source

Cost: $139.99 CAD
Available at: Futureshop, Jawbone
Rating: 4/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

