Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Free Thought Fridays: The benefits of raw chocolate

Leave a comment


Source

Benefits

Have you ever heard of raw chocolate? You may be wondering what it is. Well, raw chocolate comes from cacao beans that haven’t been roasted. Raw chocolate is full of anti-oxidants and minerals that your body needs like magnesium, chromium and iron. It’s also high in Vitamin C which might seem counter intuitive since we are taught to think that only citrus fruits are high in Vitamin C. Depending on where the cacao comes from it may have undertones of caramel, coffee, or even floral undertones. It sounds much like a fine wine, which makes sense if you think about it. On a side note, this idea is called terroir (from the french word terre “land”) and is loosely translated as “sense of place.”

Personal Experience

I used to be able to eat a whole bar of what I call junk food chocolate which is highly processed and full of preservatives and other chemicals. I would crave a taste of junk food chocolate every single day! Brands like Hershey, Nestle and Cadbury were what I ate growing up. Since I started eating raw chocolate I have fewer intense chocolate cravings. Now I just have a half inch square when I feel like it. What a big difference for me, going from a whole bar of junk food chocolate almost every day to a small square three times a week. I’m sure that as I continue on my clean eating adventure the cravings will decrease even more.

What kind to buy?

In my opinion, the best raw chocolate is non-GMO, organic and free trade. You might wonder why free trade is important to me. Watch this YouTube video below on Ivory Coast cacao farmers and you’ll understand. It saddens me that the average Ivory Coast cacao farmer can’t even afford to buy a chocolate bar! Fair trade chocolate ensures that farmers like these are paid fair wages so that they can support themselves and their families. I choose non-GMO, organic chocolate in order to reduce the toxic burden my body has to carry. I don’t want to be eating chocolate full of pesticides or is a GMO product. Read more about the effects of GMO’s on the body here.

Where to buy?

My favourite Canadian sources of raw chocolate are Chocosol Traders and Giddy Yo Yo. I’ve also heard good things about Raw Chocolate Man which is available in the USA, but I haven’t tried it yet.

Have you ever tried raw chocolate? If yes, what are your favourite brands?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

