Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Miik Clothing, Charlotte Cardi and Jamie Buttoned Tunic

Leave a comment

About Miik Clothing

I’ve been a fan of Miik Clothing since I learned about them through Adria Vasil, author of Ecoholic. I love that they are local, eco and their clothing is well made. Read more about Miik on their About Us page. Check out the interview with founder Donna Smith below.

I currently don’t have any pictures of myself wearing the Charlotte Cardi or the Jamie Tunic but I’ll beg my hubby to take pictures. You can also check out my Instagram pics of my other Miik Clothing here: Emily Cardigan in Black, Wendy Dress in Watermelon. I’ve just realized I need to take more pictures of my Miik Clothing! I have more pieces than these pictures suggest.


Source

Charlotte Cardi

This cardi is perfect to pair with my summer dresses. It shows off the shape of my dress while keeping my arms and back covered enough so that I won’t freeze while at work. It’s also sleek and simple enough that it doesn’t detract from whatever dress I’m wearing. I work in an office so in the summer time they crank up the AC. I’m prone to getting cold easily, so a cardigan with this kind of shape works perfectly for me. I bought this cardi in black. But it’s pretty hard to see details of the shape and style when you see the picture of the black cardi so I chose the port colour to showcase. As for material the cardi is light and comfortable, not bulky at all. I’ve never heard of sorona before but according to my research it is a biopolymer “containing 37% annually renewable plant based ingredients.”

Materials: 90% rayon-made-from-bamboo and 10% lycra; 55% rayon-made-from-bamboo,
35% sorona and 10% lycra.
Color: Port (Also available in: Black and Ink Blue)
Cost: $175.00 CAD
Available at: Miik Clothing, Logan & Finley, Other stockists


Source

Jamie Buttoned Tunic

I love the Jamie buttoned tunic. It was however, too long for my petite stature. I’m only about 5’3″ so when I first put the tunic on, it was too long to be a tunic and too short to be a dress. I ended up taking it to an alterationist to have it shortened. Now it looks much better on me. The fit isn’t 100% perfect as it hangs on me a little, but I do love this tunic. The colour options are great for one thing, and it’s also the light and comfortable fabric. It has washed well so far and I look forward to years of wearing it. When I have worn it out casually or even at work on casual day, I always get compliments on the colour.

Materials: 90% rayon-made-from-bamboo and 10% lycra. 55% rayon-made-from-bamboo,
35% sorona and 10% lycra.
Color: Port/Red Wine (Also available in: Charcoal Sorona/Port, Black/Charcoal Sorona, Port/Black, Ink Blue/Black, Port, Ink Blue, Red Wine, and Black)
Cost: $165.00 CAD
Available at: Miik Clothing, Logan & Finley, Other stockists

Overall, I would say these pieces are great additions to my wardrobe. At these prices I would consider these investment pieces. Miik Clothing does last a long time if you take care of it properly. So all Miik lovers take heart, your piece of clothing will last with proper care. Also, they do have clearance sales at the end of the season. But you’ve got to be quick because sizes and colours sell out in a snap! Also, while eco-friendly clothing tends to be more expensive, you can rest easy knowing that you’re not contributing to global waste or pollution and the people sewing your clothing are paid fairly. My policy these days is to vote with my dollar! I’m all for fair wages, and eco-friendly, sustainably made clothing.

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

