Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Battle of the Clay Toothpastes: Earth to Body vs. Earthpaste

Leave a comment

clay-toothpastes
Source

Earth to Body, Tooth Cleanser

Ingredients: Coconut, Magnesium oxide, Coral calcium, Bentonite Clay, Lemon Honey, Baking Soda, Charcoal, Cinnamon, MSM, Turmeric, Moringa, Amla, Neem, Dead Sea Salt, Manuka, Spearmint, Clove, Lemonseed Extract.

I’ve been using this tooth cleanser for quite some time now. It does work to clean the teeth adequately. When I went to my dentist for a check up she said I had less plaque than previously. The taste and texture is fine as well. The ingredients are all great for tooth and gum care. I have to warn you though, this tooth cleanser is best used during the winter time when it remains solid. Due to the coconut oil base it gets very messy in the summer time. Most people know that coconut oil melts and becomes translucent when subjected to heat. The coconut oil separates from the other ingredients and the tooth cleanser needs to be stirred. I once stirred the tooth cleanser a bit too vigorously and splashed the coconut oil all over the counter. Besides that, I find the bentonite clay doesn’t dissolve completely with the other ingredients and when I spit out the tooth cleanser my sink looks like I dropped clay in it. It’s not easy to scrub off either. Perhaps this product would work better if the clay was more finely ground and mixed with the other ingredients. I also find the plastic tub kind of messy to apply the tooth cleanser. There’s a reason why most people love using toothpaste tubes. It’s no fuss, clean, and easy to use. Unless they change the container and application of this tooth cleanser, I won’t be repurchasing. I’ve tried out Redmond’s Earthpaste and like that much better.

Cost: $19.00 CAD, 60 ml / 2 oz
Available at: Earth to Body
Rating: 3/5


Source

Redmond, Earthpaste

Ingredients: Purified water, food grade redmond clay, xylitol, peppermint essential oil, menthol, redmond real salt, tea tree oil.

The ingredients for this toothpaste are pretty similar to the one above. This ingredients list is actually simpler. Now this is the kind of toothpaste that I love. The clay is ground finely enough that when I spit in the sink it doesn’t stick to it and washes away cleanly. Plus, when I use this toothpaste my teeth feel super clean. The toothpaste tube is also much more convenient to use than the plastic tub. When I squeeze the toothpaste onto my toothbrush none of the ingredients are separated. They have 3 g travel sizes of this toothpaste which I’m going to try when I go traveling later this year. I would definitely repurchase this toothpaste.

Cost: $7.79 CAD, 113 g / 4 oz
Available at: Ambrosia, Well.ca, Amazon.com, Earthpaste.com
Rating: 5/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

