Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Free Thought Fridays: Rwanda, a poem

Leave a comment


Source

Rwanda

My son is gone.

They took his little body away
in those big trucks
with all the other bodies.

Where my son’s spirit has gone
I do not know.
But
I hope he is happy
And healthy
there.

Many
Lie dead
Or dying
All around me.
Soon
I may join my son,
My full years
Never lived.

With the dying of the light
Comes another group of soldiers
And doctors
Who take the bodies away.

One of them approaches me
And lifts me up
with plastic covered hands,
And bears me away.

I do not resist.
My body is not dead,
But my
Heart
and my
Soul
are as dead
As my husband,
and my
four little boys,
my babies.

I am glad
they are taking me
Away
So that my body
May die in peace
And join the spirits of my husband
and children.

That is the only release
for me now
In Rwanda.

@Copyright Elegantly Eco, 2015

To read more about Rwanda click here.

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

