Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Book Review: The Food Babe Way by Vani Hari

Leave a comment


Source

About the Author:

Vani Hari is a food activist and the creator of FoodBabe.com. In her work, Hari has influenced how food giants like Kraft, Subway, Chipotle, Chick-fil-A, and Starbucks create their products, steering them toward more healthful policies. For most of her life, Vani Hari ate whatever she wanted — candy, soda, fast food, processed food – until her typical American diet landed her where that diet typically does, in a hospital. It was then that Hari decided to make health her number one priority. Her newfound goal drove her to investigate what is really in our food, how it is grown, and what chemicals are used in its production. The more she learned, and the more lessons she put into action, the better she felt. Eager to share the truth about harmful ingredients as well as the secrets of her healthy lifestyle with friends and family,
Excerpt from The Food Babe Way, Author page

Book Review:

Well there’s a lot to talk about in this book so let’s get started. Part I of the book deals with Vani Hari’s story and also how she came to start investigating food ingredients. She has a list of chemicals to avoid which she calls the “Sickening 15”. These chemicals commonly found in processed foods are called obsegens. I did a quick search on google and the term does actually exist. However, since I’m not a scientist I cannot say how accurate her information in the book is. Hari has lately been attacked by some in the scientific community that call her a fearmonger and scientifically illiterate. I’m not here to debate whether she is or not, as it would take an awful lot of time for me to research each of her claims. But the good food habits she lays out in Part II of the book make sense to me. For example, many people drink lemon water in the morning as a way to do a light detox every day. Also, drinking juiced fruits and vegetables are certainly known to improve health by getting more nutrients into your body. I’ve also tried Hari’s advice about not drinking during meals. That has definitely helped with my digestive processes. I like her advice to eat meat like a condiment instead of making it the main attraction of a meal. So there are still some valuable things for me to take away from this book. Part III contains all the recipes and eating plans. The recipes are healthy and common dishes that you can also find some variation of on the internet for free. For the eating plan I would actually flip things around. She has the heaviest meal at dinner time and I actually like my heaviest meals to be breakfast and lunch. I need more fuel during the day when I’m out and about at work, whereas at night time I’m usually just relaxing. Also her guidelines for how to eat while traveling or dining out make a lot of sense but what if you are in an area where there you cannot get organic foods easily? I’m not willing to load down half of my luggage with food just because of that. I would personally make take the healthiest options available and then go back to eating organic when I get home. Hari’s way of eating seems very restrictive in some ways. It worked for her and that’s great. But it might not work for everyone. I actually bought a paper copy of the book to use as a reference but going through it now, I think I may actually return it. The book is also available at my local library so I don’t think I need a personal copy on my bookshelf. To be honest, I’m a little disappointed in this book because a lot of her advice has already been talked about and published by many other authors.

Rating: 3/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

