Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Odylique Purifying Facial Wash, Balancing Tonic and Superfruit Concentrate

Leave a comment

Odylique is an organic and free-trade UK brand founded by Margaret Weeds that recently launched their US website. I was contacted by Odylique to test out some of their products and I gladly agreed. I’ve wanted to try their products for some time but the shipping and duty costs can be quite exorbitant to and from the UK. It’s great that I can now order from the USA site if I wish.

Lemon and Tea Tree Purifying Wash

Ingredients: Aqua, Coco glucoside, Olea europaea fruit oil*, Sodium olivate*, Glycerine**, Aloe barbadensis leaf juice powder*, Citrus limon peel oil*, Cymbopogon citratus leaf oil*, Melaleuca alternifolia leaf oil*, Lactic acid, Levulinic acid, P-anisic acid, Sodium levulinate, Xanthan gum, citral* and limonene* (in the essential oils) *Organically grown and produced ** Organic origin (total 70%)

Plain English: Aloe vera juice*, Gentle cleanser from coconut & corn glucose, Extra virgin olive oil*, Saponified extra virgin olive oil*, Non-palm plant glycerine**, Essential oils of Lemon*, Lemongrass* and Tea Tree*, Plant origin stabilisers

I love the fresh smell of this facial wash. You can really smell the tea tree, lemon and lemon grass. I would consider the scent mild for those that are scent sensitive. Once you wash this off your face the scent doesn’t linger. Also, despite the coconut derived glucose it didn’t break out my sensitive and acne prone skin. It lathers up easily with just a dime sized amount in my palm on a damp face. Washing this off my face my skin feels matte and clean. I noticed that as I used this cleanser the frequency of my breakouts decreased.

Cost: Full size, $35.00 USD, 200 ml / 6.8 oz (travel size: $14.00 USD, 30 ml / 1.7 oz)
Available at: Odylique UK, Odylique USA
Brand Origin: United Kingdom
Rating: 5/5

Balancing Citrus Super Tonic

Ingredients: Rosa centifolia flower water*, Alcohol*, Calendula officinalis flower extract*, Cananga odorata flower oil*, Citrus aurantium bergamia peel oil*, Citrus limon peel oil*, Citrus sinensis peel oil*, limonene* (in the citrus essential oils). *Organically grown & produced (100% of product)

Plain English: Rose flower water*, Sugar-cane alcohol* (Food grade and fermented from organic sugar cane, this alcohol forms part of the botanical extraction of the biodynamic herbs. Please note that we do not add any alcohol to the product – there is a very small amount of organic alcohol residue contained in one of the ingredients; a biodynamic herbal tincture. By law this must be listed on the product label.) Calendula flower extract*, Essential oils of Bergamot* (bergaptene-free), Lemon*, Sweet orange*, and Ylang ylang*

I have to say that I’m loving the smell of Odylique’s products. I notice that this tonic also contains some citrus essential oils. Since I’m a fan of citrus smells I love this product as well. The alcohol makes this tonic a bit too drying for my skin despite the rose flower water and calendula flower extract. So I use this sparingly and it helps to balance and mattify my skin. Note that this tonic is for those with normal, oily, mature skin.Those with dry skin would want to try the Calming Rose Super Tonic.

Cost: $29.00 USD, 50 ml / 1.69 oz
Available at: Odylique UK, Odylique USA
Brand Origin: United Kingdom
Rating: 4/5

Organic Superfruit Concentrate

Ingredients: Persea gratissima fruit oil*, Simmondsia chinensis seed oil*, Rosa canina fruit extract*, Punica granatum seed extract*, Hippophae rhamnoides fruit extract*, Rosmarinus officinalis extract* Organically grown/produced (100% of product) Plain English: Cold-pressed avocado oil, Jojoba oil*, Concentrated extracts of Pomegranate*, Rosehip*, Rosemary* and Sea buckthorn fruit*

Plain English: Cold-pressed avocado oil*, Jojoba oil*, Concentrated extracts of Pomegranate*, Rosehip*, Rosemary* and Sea buckthorn fruit*

There are some lovely ingredients in this superfruit concentrate. This concentrate is orange in colour. But don’t worry, the colour disappears when you work it into your skin. In texture it feels like a middle weight oil. The smell of the oil is slightly nutty due to the avocado and jojoba oil. The astringency of the rosemary comes through as well. I found the avocado oil a bit heavy for my skin type. If I use this daily I would actually break out. So I like to use this as skin treatment once a week. When my skin is really dry this concentrate helps to rehydrate my skin beautifully.

Cost: $60.00 USD, 30 ml / 1.7 oz
Available at: Odylique UK, Odylique USA
Brand Origin: United Kingdom
Rating: 4/5

Follow Odylique on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more information!

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

