Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Haut Cosmetics, Raspberry Elixir

2 Comments



For the longest time, I’ve been looking for a facial sun screen that didn’t break me out. I hadn’t had any luck, so I thought maybe I should approach the problem in a different way. I started doing research and found out that some oils have natural SPF qualities. To experiment I decided to pick one oil out to try at a time and see how it worked for me. My first experiment has been with: ta-dah! Raspberry Seed oil! Read on for my review.

Ingredients: 100% Pure Red Raspberry Seed Oil, Vanilla Bean (Lactobacillus/Dipteryx Odorata Seed Ferment Filtrate) Bio-ferment.

Raspberry Seed Oil has a lot of great qualities. For one thing, this lovely seed oil has a high proportion of vitamin E, vitamin A and other anti-oxidants. It is known to have anti-inflammatory properties and helps to heal skin conditions like eczema, and psoriasis. Raspberry Seed Oil also has a natural SPF ranging from 28-50. Since I’m all about simplicity these days I love the idea of a one ingredient natural sunscreen. I’m happy to report that this oil works perfectly for me in that way. I like to put it on before my moisturizer so it can soak in. Then I apply my makeup and my face remains matte all day long. This oil has a slightly nutty smell and absorbs easily into my skin. It feels like a “dry” oil. For those not familiar with dry oils, their qualities are known as being lightweight, quick absorbing and for having a non-greasy finish. Jojoba oil for example, isn’t a dry oil. When I put jojoba oil on my face it sits on the top layer of my skin and takes quite a long time for my skin to absorb. But the raspberry seed oil absorbs so well into my skin that I actually don’t need to use blotting paper during the day like I have in the past. I’m really loving this Raspberry Elixir from Haut Cosmetics!

Cost: $59.95 CAD, 80 ml / 2.7 oz
Available at: Haut Cosmetics
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 5/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

2 thoughts on “Haut Cosmetics, Raspberry Elixir

  1. Oh I love the idea of using this in place of an SPF! I haven’t found a green one I’m 100% happy with. Adding this to my list of things to try 🙂

    • In addition to the raspberry oil I still use a moisturizer with an SPF. I like Marie Veronique’s Everyday Coverage SPF though it isn’t vegan. Next on my list to try is Josh Rosebrook’s Tinted Nutrient Day Cream that has SPF built in.

Leave a Reply

