Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

June/July: Empties

Leave a comment

John Masters Citrus and Neroli Detangler (sample) – No Review

I mixed a sample size of this into my aloe vera juice leave-in for an extra moisturizing and detangling kick. It worked very well, though it leaves a sticky white residue in my spray bottle. Currently I’m undecided if I want to repurchase or try a more DIY approach to a detangler.

Cost: $24.75 CAD, 236 ml / 8.0 oz
Available at: Clementine Fields, Thair, Well.ca
Brand Origin: USA
Rating: 3/5

Holistic Vanity, Calming Aloe Kumari CleanserReview

This is one of my favourite cleansers. When my skin is reactive and needs a break from everything I can safely use this cleanser without making matters worse. The Aloe Kumari Cleanser is actually part of the rosacea line but also works well for any sensitive skin types. I’ve repurchased this cleanser many times and will continue to do so.

Cost: $28.00 CAD, 100 ml / 3.4 oz
Available at: Pure + Simple, Glam Goes Green
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 5/5

Marie Veronique Advanced, Gentle Retinol Serum (sample) – Review

This is a great quality retinol from Marie Veronique Advanced. While I enjoyed using this retinol a lot, the price is a bit much for me. So I’m off to search for something more affordable. However, if I don’t find something that works as well as this retinol I would definitely repurchase it.

Cost: $110.00 USD, 30 ml / 1 oz
Available at: Marie Veronique AdvancedLilou Organics
Rating: 4/5

Lily Lolo, Concealer in CaramelReview

This concealer is the best one I’ve used so far. The texture is so light that you wouldn’t be able to tell I’m wearing it just by looking at me. Also the shade is almost perfect. If this were one or two shades darker I wouldn’t have to use a powder foundation on top to blend & correct the colour. Also a few granules of concealer spreads very well on the skin so you don’t need much to do spot concealing or even your whole face.

Cost: $21.00 CAD, 4.5 g/ 0.2 oz
Available at: White Apothecary, Lily Lolo USANaturismo
Brand Origin: UK
Rating: 4/5

Odacite, Intensive Hand and Heel Therapy (sample) – Review

I finished up my small sample size quickly since I was slathering it on my feet daily. It still lasted longer than I thought the tiny bottle would last! It’s sandal weather here in my city so I need to buy some more. Since I finished my sample I’ve been using other moisturizers and it just doesn’t do the job as well as this one does. My feet have never felt so soft (yet not greasy) in ages! Must buy some more soon!

Cost: $45.00 CAD, 120 ml / 4 oz
Available at: Petal and Post, Detox Market Canada
Brand Origin: USA
Rating: 5/5

Parkdale Butter, CocoaNut Body ButterReview

I love the whipped texture of this body butter. My skin doesn’t absorb it as fast as I’d like but that’s the nature of coconut oil and cocoa butter. I would definitely consider repurchasing this after finishing off some of the other body butters in my cabinet.

Cost: $24.99 CAD, 240 ml / 8.1 oz
Available at: Parkdale Butter, List of stockists
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 4/5

Antipodes, Kiwi Seed Eye Cream – No Review

This cream didn’t do anything for my under eye circles. It’s really only good for moisturizing the eye area and firming it up. The jar lasted me so long that it actually went rancid before I could finish it. I won’t be repurchasing this because I would rather have an eye cream that addresses the darkness under my eyes.

Cost: $46.00 CAD, 30 ml / 1.0 oz
Available at: Urb Organic Spa, White Apothecary
Brand Origin: Australia
Rating: 3/5

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

