Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Spotlight on: Joy McCarthy, Holistic Nutritionist

Leave a comment


I have read and loved Joy McCarthy’s book: Joyous Health – Eat & Live Well without Dieting. It has a wealth of information I think everyone should know. You can read my book review here. Joy is a Holistic Nutritionist and the Health Expert to Global TV’s The Morning Show. I recently met her at the Total Health Show and she is such a lovely person. Read more about Joy on her website’s About Page. I asked if Joy would allow me to interview her for my blog and she agreed. Here is the interview below. I hope you enjoy it!

    I’ve been reading via social media that you’re working on a new book called Joyous Detox. How many months of work does it take to get a book published?

     Yes! I’m super excited about my second book Joyous Detox. My manuscript is actually due at the end of August, so I’m just putting the final touches on it now. It takes me a couple of years. First I come up with the concept, create an outline and then discuss it with my editor/publisher. Then I start writing. I started writing Joyous Detox last year and it will be published in 2017. I’m already thinking about book 3 and it will definitely have a joyous baby theme. 🙂

    I’m a real believer in people taking charge of their health. Do you think the average person is becoming more aware of how proper nutrition can prevent many health issues?

     Yes most definitely. I know this just based on how my blog traffic has grown over the years…also based on holistic nutrition being on mainstream TV.

    Your journey as a holistic nutritionist is a fascinating one. (Read about it here.) Do you ever look back and wonder what your life would have been like if you didn’t follow this path?

     For sure. I know that if I never followed my true passion I would still be working in a marketing job in an office and feeling completely unfulfilled. Feeling unfulfilled in one aspect of your life can unfortunately affect all other areas of your life. Following my dreams brought so much unexpected goodness into my life, including my husband Walker who is now my full-time business partner for almost two years now. I don’t look back often, but when I do it’s really motivating to see how far I’ve come both personally and professionally.

    What are your favourite personal care products?

     I love dry skin brushing, I do it every day. My growing baby in my belly loves it too! For shampoo I love Rahua. It’s a little pricey so I don’t use it every time I wash, just every other wash but along with eating protein and good fat, it keeps my hair shiny! I also use my own Joyous Natural Deodorant, body butta on my legs after shaving and I use my belly bump butta every day on my growing belly. So far…no stretch marks! Fingers crossed. I love lipstick and lipgloss and I’m totally addicted to the Ilia line. They have such pretty colours and they are a clean brand. Everything my husband and I use on our body and in our home for cleaning is as clean and toxin-free as possible. I feel good knowing that anything that flushes down the sink from facewash to toothpaste is not harming the environment. This is important to me.

    What one product or ingredient would you never ever use and why?

     Sadly, most mainstream products made by Uniliver, P&G and the like do not seem to care about the environment or the health of people. So I avoid brands like Dove, Johnson and Johnson etc. There is more than one ingredient I avoid, in fact there are multiple ingredients. So I just make sure that I read my labels of everything and only use products with ingredients I know.

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! Do you think your next book will be called Joyous Pregnancy? And where do you see Joyous Health going in the future?

     My third book will definitely be something baby/pregnancy related. I’ve had an enjoyable pregnancy and I know much of this is because of my health before getting pregnant. As for Joyous Health, I will continue doing what I love – speaking and writing. As well, I will continue to develop new offerings on the website from ebooks to natural personal care products. Thanks so much for the interview. Really great questions!

My thanks to Joy McCarthy for taking time out of her busy schedule to answer these questions. I know I’m definitely looking forward to reading Joy’s next book when it comes out. You can follow Joy on her website Joyous Health as well as on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and Pinterest!

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

