Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

All you need is love and chocolate from ChocoSol Traders

Leave a comment


ChocoSol Traders has become one of my favourite organic chocolate brands. Green & Black’s used to be my favourite but I’ve since realized the benefits of eating a more artisan type of chocolate and raw chocolate. What makes them artisans?  Well, ChocoSol Traders make sure they deal only with fair-trade cacao bean suppliers, and they make their chocolate right here in my home city of Toronto using eco-friendly power. They have a “cradle to cradle” approach in making their chocolate, which is organic, shade grown and sourced from indigenous communities in the Lacondon Jungle of Chiapas, Mexico and the Oaxacan mountains of Southern Mexico. They also use ingredients grown in Southern Ontario. To read more about ChocoSol Traders, check out their About Us page.

I love all the unique flavours they have for their bars. At the Total Health Show back in April I was able to nab the Jaguar Swirl and Coffee Crunch flavours which aren’t available at the health food stores I frequent. The bars were delicious and I found a small square of chocolate really satisfying. With some chocolate bars in the past I would eat one piece and then want to devour the whole bar! But with ChocoSol Traders’ my chocolate craving would be satisfied with just one square. Perhaps it’s because their chocolate is quite dense and the flavour profile is also intense. Chocolate bars aside, I’ve also tried their cacao nibs which I use to make the Earth Diet cookie dough balls. The cacao nibs work great as “chocolate chips” and are actually healthier for you than milk chocolate chips as these are as pure as you can get. For those not familiar with cacao nibs, they are created from cacao beans that have been roasted, cracked and de-shelled. The only nit picky thing I can complain about with ChocoSol Traders is that I wish they had an online shop so I could get my hands on more of their special flavours. But then again, I suppose that would defeat the purpose of their slow chocolate/food ethics. Besides chocolate bars, they also sell drinking chocolate, cacao nibs, roasted coffee, hemp seeds, chia seeds, vanilla pods and agave. Check out their youtube video of drinking chocolate below. Doesn’t it look scrumptious? I’ve yet to try their drinking chocolate. Maybe when the weather cools down again I can get my hands around a hot mug of their drinking chocolate.

Cost: Half bar $4.80 CAD
Available at: Noah’s Natural Foods, Ambrosia Natural Foods, List of other stockists
Brand Origin: Canada
Rating: 5/5

Check out ChocoSol Traders on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

