Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Au Naturale, Concealer and Foundation

Leave a comment

AA_Creme_Concealer_in_Beige

Au Naturale, Crème Concealer in Beige

Ingredients: Organic Castor Oil, Mica, Wildcrafted Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Organic Simmondsia Chinsis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Castor Wax, Iron Oxides, Kaolin, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Oleoresin, Organic Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil, Organic Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Zinc Oxide (Non-Nano), Organic Maranta Arledinacea

Another find from green beauty shop Natural Code is Au Naturale‘s Crème Concealer in Beige. This concealer actually looks way too light for my skin tone in the swatch above. But if you look at the picture below where I’ve blended it into my skin you can hardly detect it. Some great ingredients in this concealer, kaolin clay is great for absorbing oils, jojoba oil is also close to the skin’s natural sebum production. Rosemary and Olive are both known as anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidants. I like the simplicity of using this concealer. I just dab my fingers into the pot and pat it gently on my under eye circles and blemishes. The coverage can be built up from medium to full. I like to keep it at medium coverage since I think that looks more natural and realistic than being able to cover up all the tiny imperfections. Since my skin is blemish prone and very sensitive I’m quite picky about what I put on my face. I’m happy to report that this concealer didn’t break me out, nor did it cause any other reactions. I’m seriously considering making this concealer my everyday concealer as it’s so easy to use and I like the coverage. The small pot is also very travel friendly, compared to some powder concealers I’ve tried. I would like to play with the other concealer colours (like Buff) to see if that would suit me better.

AN-concealer-beige

Cost: $30.00 CAD, 5.5 ml / 0.2 oz
Available at: Natural Code, Au Naturale
Brand Origin: USA
Rating: 5/5

AN-Foundation-swatch-combo

Au Naturale, Powder Foundation in Sand

Ingredients: Zinc Oxide (Non-Nano), Mica, Titanium Dioxide, and Iron Oxides.

I wanted to like this foundation. However there are too many oxides in this foundation and I found it would leave a very white cast around my eyes and any dry spots. The colour seemed to be the right one for me when I swatched at the store. But when I got it home I realized it was several shades too light for me. Luckily I had some darker pigments I was able to add to this foundation so that I could make it usable for my skin without looking like I was auditioning for Kabuki. The container also isn’t very travel friendly. The large perforated top lets a lot of foundation out. Once you take the plastic sticker off its hard to dispense a little at a time unless you are careful. I tend to like foundations with more clays included in the formulation like Haut’s Bio Mineral Foundation. My skin is already prone to some oilyness and this foundation didn’t work that well for me because of the shininess of the oxides and mica. The oxides can provide great coverage but unless Au Naturale reformulates by adding some clays in, I don’t think I will be repurchasing this foundation again.

Cost: $40.00 CAD, 9 g / 0.3 oz
Available at: Natural Code, Au Naturale
Brand Origin: USA
Rating: 3/5

Have you ever tried Au Naturale?

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

