Elegantly Eco

Eco-Friendly Beauty, Fashion, Reviews, and Info

Free Thought Fridays: Handling peoples disappointment

Leave a comment

Image Source
Quote source

As I get older I realize that time and energy are precious commodities. When you’re the type (as I am) that is sensitive to other people’s feelings you can sometimes get to be a bit of a people pleaser. Being around happy people is such a high. I used to believe that what I did for people would make them happy. I hated to disappoint anyone. So I would sometimes run myself ragged. Now I know that you cannot “make” people happy. Happiness is something that comes from within. It’s a waste of my time and my energy to do something to please someone, especially if it makes me unhappy doing it. I’ll give you an example. I was often invited to parties with people I didn’t really want to spend much time with. I would go because I felt “hey I’m young, I should be going out, partying, and socializing”. I felt I would be thought of as boring if I wasn’t always out doing something. But inside I was cringing. I knew that some of the people at the party would be obnoxious. I didn’t really want to go, but I went anyway and had a crappy time. So now if someone invites me to something I don’t want to be at I just say “thanks but no.” I don’t even care about disappointing them anymore. Life is too short. You can’t live your life trying to please everyone. You can’t control everyone’s reactions. All you can do is what’s right for you. Though, I’m still polite about declining to attend such events. After all, it was thoughtful of them to invite me. But that doesn’t mean I’m obliged to go. Also, you get a chance to learn who your friends truly are in these situations. If they still want to hang out with you even if you don’t go to their parties then they are a real friend. And real friends are keepers.

Author: Hazel

Unrepentant blogger of eco beauty, fashion and info living in Toronto, Canada. Blogging and reviews about eco-friendly organic brands, beauty, fashion, cosmetics, skincare, haircare, body care, DIY recipes, home, wellness, and lifestyle products that are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

